Make Do And Mend: Everything You Ever Loved review

By on June 19, 2012

I’m going to go on a limb here and say that Make Do And Mend’s latest release will be the album that every release for the rest of the band’s career will be compared to. I’m also willing to say that Everything You Ever Loved has all the potential to be the next Deja Entendu. Will it be? I don’t know, I can’t predict the future. I’m just saying it has all of the makings to become to fans what that Deja did to Brand New fans.

It’s a lofty statement, I know. However, this album packs a mean lyrical punch. It’s full of one liners (“One day who I am and what I lack won’t be the same thing” – “Count”) and some of the best choruses in the band’s catalogue (“You can click your heels until you wear holes in the floor/and realize that no place feels like home anymore…” – “Stay In The Sun”). But it’s one of the album’s more “ballad” like moments, “St. Anne” that hits hardest. It’s one of MDAM’s most touching tracks – it’s relatable, and you feel it in your chest long after its final moments. It’s the type of song you’ll want to close your eyes and shut out the world to when it comes on.
That’s what this album brings to the table that makes it so special. You don’t just listen to it, you feel it. Matt Carroll’s work behind the kit is fantastic throughout the album, and Schwartz’s bass work, especially in songs like “Hide Away”, make all the difference in each tracks rhythm section. Both O’Toole and James Carroll’s guitars paint a diverse soundscape. Some tracks (“Disassemble”) are especially guitar heavy, while others build up slowly before unleashing the MDAM elements we heard and loved from the band’s debut End Measured Mile – James Carroll’s gruff vocals and the crunchy guitars are all still here.
What I’m trying to say is that, while there aren’t nearly as many loud and aggressive moments in this as there were on End Measured Mile, there are still familiar elements (“Lucky” or “Royal” for example). In fact, the band simply took the best of their previous work and combined it with significantly improved songwriting. Tracks like “Drown In It” prove that these guys can throw in strings and steady build ups and refrain from screaming the entire three minutes, and still write cathartic and enjoyable music. You can stream the album here:
RIYL: Hot Water Music, Jimmy Eat World, Balance and Composure
Track Listing:
1. Blur
2. Disassemble
3. Count
4. St. Anne
5. Stay In The Sun
6. Royal
7. Drown In It
8. Lucky
9. Hide Away
10. Storrow
11. Desert Lily