Manchester Orchestra release single/video from new album ‘Cope’

By on February 25, 2014
Manchester Orchestra

Manchester Orchestra have premiered the first official music video via for “Top Notch,” from their forthcoming album Cope, out April 1 on Loma Vista/Favorite Gentlemen Recordings. The relentlessly aggressive yet melodic “Top Notch” explains lead singer/songwriter Andy Hull, “is about two brothers trying to escape a fire.” The visual presentation of the song consequently is as arresting and emotionally charged as one might expect.


Watch the music video for “Top Notch”

“We tried to create something that told less of an immediate story and caused more of a gut reaction,” says Hull about the video. “Something to be interpreted without laying it all out in front of you. It’s also quite terrifying. Like somebody was digging and found this VHS artifact in the ground.” According to director John Minton, “the video for ‘Top Notch’ conveys the sinister scenario of the song in a fragmented manner. It plays with suggestion and decay, hopefully leaving you with a lasting mental impression.”


The Atlanta-based band will tour North America in support of Cope this spring, with Balance and Composure as well as Brooklyn native and Favorite Gentlemen label-mates Kevin Devine & The Goddamn Band coming along for the ride.  Upcoming tour dates below.


Cope was self-produced alongside Manchester Orchestra’s long-time collaborating partner Dan Hannon, and mixed by John Agnello at Fluxivity Studios in Brooklyn. They recorded the entire record in the home studio they built themselves after six months spent gutting and refurbishing the old house they used to live in together. The follow up to 2011’s Simple Math, the band’s critically acclaimed and highest charting album to date, Cope is an unrelenting and unapologetically heavy 38 minutes of rock.

After several months of writing and recording between June 2012 and March 2013, Hull along with the rest of the band – lead guitarist Robert McDowell, keyboardist/percussionist Chris Freeman, bassist Andy Prince and drummer Tim Very – were forced to pair down the 28 or so completed songs in order to round out the album that would become Cope, leaving a collection of songs that is refreshingly direct and succinct in nature.


Cope will be available for pre-order beginning today, Tuesday, February 25, via iTunes. Fans who pre-order the album will receive “Top Notch” as well as the combustible second single, “Every Stone,” as an instant download.


Upcoming Tour Dates:



6 – Anchorage, AK – Bear Tooth Theatre



7 – Bristol, UK – The Fleece

8 – Birmingham, UK – The Glee Club

10 – London, UK – Scala

11 – Manchester, UK – Club Academy

12 -Glasgow, UK – SWG3

17 – Tampa, FL – The Ritz

18 – Ft. Lauderdale, FL – Revolution

19 – Orlando, FL – House of Blues Orlando

21 – Houston, TX – House of Blues Houston

22 – Austin, TX – Emo’s

23 – Dallas, TX – House of Blues Dallas

24 – Lawrence, KS – Granada

25 – Denver, CO – Summit Music Hall

26 – Salt Lake City, UT – In The Venue

28 – Spokane, WA – Knitting Factory

29 – Seattle, WA – Neptune

30 – Portland, OR – Roseland Ballroom



02 – San Francisco, CA – The Fillmore

03 – Los Angeles, CA – House of Blues Los Angeles

04 – Anaheim, CA – House of Blues Anaheim

06 – San Diego, CA – House of Blues San Diego

07 – Tempe, AZ – Marquee

09 – Colorado Springs, CO – Black Sheep

10 – Omaha, NE – Sokol

11 – St. Louis, MO – The Pageant

12 – Madison, WI – Majestic

14 – Minneapolis, MN – Skyway

15 – Chicago, IL – HOB Chicago

16 – Grand Rapids, MI – Intersection

17 – Cincinnati, OH – Bogart’s

19 – Toronto, ON – Opera House

20 – Buffalo, NY – Town Ballroom

22 – New York, NY – Terminal 5

23 – Boston, MA – House of Blues Boston

24 – Philadelphia, PA – Theatre of The Living Arts

25 – Philadelphia, PA – Theatre of The Living Arts

27 – Silver Spring, MD – The Fillmore Silver Spring

28 – Norfolk, VA – Norva

29 – Charlotte, NC – The Fillmore Charlotte

30 – Atlanta, GA – Tabernacle

31 – Nashville, TN – Cannery


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.