Matt Costa The Self Titled Fourth Album To Be Released February 12

By on October 25, 2012

Matt Costa, the self-titled fourth album from the acclaimed, eclectic
singer/songwriter is set for a February 12 release via Brushfire Records.
Matt Costa is a 10-song collection of new songs recorded in Scotland
with long-time Belle & Sebastian/Mogwai collaborator Tony Doogan. On the
new release, Costa thoughtfully mines elements of the past, while exploring
new territory. His penchant for melodic exploration is on full display throughout
the new offering. The songs, sounds, lyrics and overall vibe of the album have
elevated Costa to a new artistic plane.

Matt Costa initially set out to make an album of folk/roots-inspired songs,
but when he arrived in Glasgow, something else naturally transpired and
changed the direction of the recording. Perhaps it was the magic of Scotland,
the studio (Castle of Doom), Doogan or the incredible musicians he collaborated
with, which include Belle & Sebastian’s Stevie Jackson, Chris Geddes and
Bobby Kildea. Whatever it was, it is evident that Costa has made a real
statement with his strongest work to date.
On November 6, the four-song Sacred Hills EP will be released as a
precursor to the new album. Sacred Hillswill feature the tracks “Good
Times” and “Loving You” from Matt Costa as well the songs “Never
Change” and “Sacred Hills”, which will not appear on the album.
More on Matt Costa:

Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.