Milky Chance to release ‘Sadnecessary’ Oct.14 feat. debut hit ‘Stolen Dance’

By on October 7, 2014
Milky Chance

MILKY CHANCE’s breakthrough single “Stolen Dance” has officially been certified gold by the RIAA for digital sales and streams in excess of 500,000. This is the German duo’s very first gold plaque in the United States. Given its success at radio and online with over 74 million YouTube views, the track establishes an impressive foundation for the release of their full-length debut, Sadnecessary [Lichtdicht/Republic Records] — in stores and available via all digital retailers October 14th. Pre-order Here:

Another first on the horizon, the group will make their North American television debut on Jimmy Kimmel Live! Wednesday October 22 11:35|10:35 CT on ABC, performing “Stolen Dance” on a not to be missed special performance. International success continues to abound as the boys also recently garnered an MTV EMA nomination for “Best German Act”.

MILKY CHANCE continues their radio domination as “Stolen Dance” continues its mainstay at #1 at Triple A and Alternative. Without surprise, the song is set to cross over as it launches into Top 40 at Hot AC and Pop. This combined with the song’s 74 million views on YouTube and 100 million streams on Spotify brings the total streams to nearly 175 million. Check out the video here:

Press remains enamored with MILKY CHANCE too. just premiered this intimate acoustic video of “Stolen Dance”, while  and are also hosting performances of songs (“Loveland” and “Stunner”) off of the to-be-released album. Rolling Stone recently named them one of “10 Artists You Need to Know Now”. Nylon called their first single “Stolen Dance” a “breakout smash”, Buzzfeed dubbed it one of the “songs you need in your life this summer”, and Idolator declared it to be “absolutely undeniable”.

Longtime friends Clemens Rehbein and Philipp Dausch came together during high school in Kassel, Germany and founded MILKY CHANCE shortly after. Initially, they released Sadnecessary independently in Europe through their own label Lichtdicht Records and saw major success, hitting #1 in France and going Top 10 in 9 countries, while “Stolen Dance” took off online.

Stay tuned for 2015 North American tour plans from MILKY CHANCE as well.

Sadnecessary Tracklisting:

  1. Stunner
  2. Flashed Junk Mind
  3. Becoming
  4. Running
  5. Feathery (slow version)
  6. Indigo
  7. Sadnecessary
  8. Down By the River
  9. Sweet Sun
  10. Fairytale
  11. Stolen Dance
  12. Loveland (studio version)
  13. Feathery (bonus track)
  14. Loveland (bonus track)

Milky Chance Tour Dates
October 13th   New York, NY             Bowery Ballroom- SOLD OUT
October 16th   Toronto, CA                Virgin Mobile Mod Club – SOLD OUT
October 18th   Houston, TX                Buzzfest
October 20th   Los Angeles, CA         Troubadour- SOLD OUT
October 23rd   San Francisco, CA     Pop Scene
October 24th   Las Vegas, NV            Life is Beautiful

Milky Chance Links:


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.