Minor Alps Release Debut Full-Length “Get There,” Debut “Buried Plans”

By on August 14, 2013


Barsuk Records and Minor Alps are proud to announce the October 29th release of Get There, the debut collaborative album from accomplished musicians Matthew Caws of Nada Surf and Juliana Hatfield. Over the last two decades, both have carved out long-lasting – and strikingly independent – careers within a dependably fickle music business, Caws with his now 20-year-old New York City group Nada Surf, and Hatfield with the Boston-reared Blake Babies, the Juliana Hatfield Three, Some Girls, as well as a number of releases under her own name.


NPR Music debuts the first song off Get There, “Buried Plans” on “All Songs Considered” today, August 13. “The pairing brings out the softer side Nada Surf sometimes delved into while reaching for something new entirely,” says NPR. Minor Alps will tour this November in support of the album. Upcoming Tour Dates Below.
Listen to “Buried Plans” via NPR Music


Hatfield and Caws not only share lead vocals and co-writing credit on each of the eleven songs that comprise Get There; aside from some drumming and programming by Parker Kindred (Jeff Buckley, Antony and the Johnsons) and Chris Egan (Solange, Computer Magic), the pair plays every instrument and conjures every sound – from primitive electronic dub pulse (‘Buried Plans’)– to straight-up rock hook (‘I Don’t Know What To Do With My Hands’) to stripped-down electric guitar punch (‘Mixed Feelings’) to eerie trance-allure (‘Radio Static’) to hypnotic guitar drone (‘Waiting For You’).

It’s not just the timbre of the voices and the shared vision of their musical explorations, but the emotional tone of their songs and lyrics that blends so seamlessly. Their attraction to themes of restless solitude and constant longing have always been a compelling part of their individual repertoires, and Minor Alps expresses an ageless existential yearning tempered by hard-fought wisdom, maturity, or maybe just acceptance of certain eternal truths. As they ruefully admit in ‘If I Wanted Trouble,’ “This growing up never ends/ The same mistakes come back again…”



For Bio and Photos visit BigHassle.com/publicity/minor-alps


Upcoming Tour Dates:



08 – Seattle, WA – Neptune Theater (Barsuk 15thAnniversary Show)
09 – Portland, OR – Hawthorne Theatre

11 – San Francisco, CA – The Independent

12 – Los Angeles, CA – Echoplex

14 – San Diego, CA – Soda Bar

16 – Minneapolis, MN – Cedar Cultural Center

17 – Chicago, IL – Schubas

19 – Washington, DC – Black Cat

20 -New York, NY – Bowery Ballroom

22 – Philadelphia, PA – World Café Live

23 – Boston, MA – Sinclair


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.