Minus The Bear announce new album on Dangerbird Records and Fall tour dates

By on July 28, 2014

Minus The Bear

Photo Credit: Ryan Russell

Minus The Bear will release their latest LP, Lost Loves, on October 7th via Dangerbird Records. The seasoned Seattle, WA five piece will embark upon a club tour this fall in support of the new album as well as the 10th anniversary re-release of their fan favorite EP, They Make Beer Commercials Like This. For a band that routinely sells out 1000+ cap venues across the country, the small rooms scheduled for the coming dates will provide an intimate setting for fans to experience Lost Loves live. Joining Minus The Bear on the road at various points are O’Brother, Young Widows, and Mansions, and on September 20th they perform at the Sunset Strip Music Festival’s main stage. Upcoming tour dates and album tracklist below.


VIP Pre-Sale Tickets Available Today, July 28th at Noon ET (General On-Sale 8/1)



The follow up to Infinity Overhead, which reached #31 on the Billboard 200 as Minus The Bear’s highest charting album to date, Lost Loves lives up to its title quite literally as a collection of hard to let go songs pulled from the band’s past seven odd years of writing, recording and releasing records. “Inevitably some of your favorite songs are going to be cut in the necessity of creating the right sequence for that particular time,” says bassist Cory Murchy. “Regardless of the reason they weren’t included, it wasn’t for lack of love and appreciation of the songs themselves.” Somewhat by chance the black sheep that didn’t quite fit in with Planet of Ice, OMNI, and Infinity Overhead coalesce among their once regretfully forsaken peers. “Perhaps it’s because they didn’t make the past albums that they fit so seamlessly together,” muses Murchy.


That each song was out of place on more conceptual releases is a harbinger of what to expect from Lost Loves as a collection of compositions that channel the essential essence of Minus The Bear’s songwriting. Over the years the band “has made a name for itself creating music as ear-catching as it is resonant with fans of guitar athletics and progressive structures,” wrote Consequence of Sound, and Lost Loves more than delivers on that promise. As the band began metaphorically reaching out to the “ones that got away” from past sessions, additional recording and vocals were completed for select tracks. “As a whole,” says Murchy, “this collection of songs offers as strong a package as any other album we’ve put together.”


Formed in 2001, Minus The Bear is comprised of Dave Knudson (guitar), Jake Snider (vocals, guitar), Erin Tate (drums), Cory Murchy (bass), and Alex Rose (synths, vocals). Over the last 13 years the band have cultivated a large and devoted international following, playing countless sold out venues as they tour the globe over, including North America, Europe, U.K., Japan and Australia, in addition to unforgettable performances at every high profile U.S. festival like Bonnaroo, Coachella, Lollapalooza and Sasquatch!. That their past three indie label full-length releases have charted in the top half of the Billboard 200 with steadily increasing success is testament to Minus The Bear’s standing as a musically innovative and beloved group with an unyielding fanbase that continues to grow with each album.

Lost Loves

Lost Loves Tracklist

01 – Electric Rainbow

02 – Surf-N-Turf

03 – Broken China

04 – Walk On Air

05 – Patiently Waiting

06 – Cat Calls & Ill Means

07 – Invented Memory

08 – South Side Life

09 – Your Private Sky

10 – The Lucky Ones


Upcoming Tour Dates:

* = w/ O’Brother

# = w/ Young Widows

& = w/ Mansions



20 – Los Angeles, CA – Sunset Strip Music Festival



14 – Pittsburgh, PA – Club Cafe *

15 – Brooklyn, NY – Saint Vitus *

16 – Cambridge, MA – The Sinclair *

17 – New York, NY – Gramercy Theatre *

18 – Philadelphia, PA – Underground Arts *

19 – Washington, DC – Rock & Roll Hotel *

21 – Cleveland, OH – Grog Shop #

22 – Detroit, MI – Magic Stick #

23 – Chicago, IL – Bottom Lounge #

24 – Minneapolis, MN – Triple Rock #

25 – Des Moines, IA – Wolly’s #

27 – Denver, CO – Marquis Theatre



01 – Seattle, WA – The Crocodile &

20 – San Francisco, CA – Slim’s &

21 – San Diego, CA – Casbah &

22 – Pomona, CA – Glasshouse &

23 – San Luis Obispo, CA – SLO Brewing Co. &



Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.