Miracle Fortress Premieres Pyrotechnical New Video with IFC

By on February 15, 2012

Watch the video for ‘Raw Spectacle’ at the IFC premiere or at YouTube

Montreal-based musician and producer Miracle Fortress (aka Graham Van Pelt) has premiered a fiery new video for ‘Raw Spectacle’ with IFC. The single is taken from his last year’s Was I the Wave? LP, which was lauded by Pitchfork, Stereogum, NYLON, XLR8R and Exclaim! among others, and released via Secret City Records (Diamond Rings, Plants and Animals). This past summer, Van Pelt released a series of unique content monthly, including tracks ‘Seabird‘ and ‘Tropic of Canada‘ from a collection of unreleased material he wrote after the release of Was I the Wave?. Prolific in the studio, Van Pelt worked on a great deal of material during the three year lapse of the sophomore album and his Polaris-Prize nominated debut, Five Roses.

“We can say with pride that the result exceeded our own expectations,” said Van Pelt about the new video. Director Emily Kai Bock (Grimes’ upcoming “Oblivion”) explained, “The pyrotechnics were real, we didn’t do any visual effects – It was more fun that way. Both Graham and I suffered one minor burn each and Neal, our DP smashed a lens after tripping while running down the smoke-filled train tunnel. It was sorta insane, but a huge blast.” Kai Bock explained the concept behind the video, saying, “I wanted to make a surreal narrative video using Graham as the lead character,…I had been watching a lot of ‘X-Files’ and had finished a short doc on ex-prisoners integrating into community at the time – so I had these themes of outcasts and aliens on my mind.” With a Canadian tour dates underway, Miracle Fortress will finish off the month with performances throughout Quebec.

Miracle Fortress Live

2/17 – Rimouski QC @ Salle Desjardins-Telus
2/18 – Riviere-du-Loup QC @ Centre Culturel de RDL
2/23 – Montreal QC @ Place des Festivals (Montreal High Lights Festival)
2/25 – Shawinigan QC @ Salle Philippe-Filion #
# w/ Coeur de Pirate

Was I The Wave? Track Listing

1. Awe
2. Tracers
3. Raw Spectacle (mp3 download))
4. Wave
5. Spectre
6. Everything Works
7. Before
8. Miscalculations (mp3 download)
9. Immanent Domain
10. Until


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.