By on March 25, 2013



Photo Credit: Brook Reynolds

Hamilton’s prodigious sons MONSTER TRUCK have just announced the details of their debut full-length on Dine Alone Records.  The album aptly titled FURIOSITY, is scheduled for release on May 28 and will include a bonus track “Win / Lose” on both the digital and vinyl versions. Furiosity will be available for pre-sale beginning April 30. Those who purchase through iTunes will be instantly given the track “The Giant” and those purchasing copies of the CD and Vinyl through the band’s website, will have options to add other “extras”.


Produced by JUNO-nominated Eric Ratz (Billy Talent, Three Days Grace, Cancer Bats) at Vespa Studios in Toronto and Echo Mountain Studios in Asheville, NC, Furiosity showcases Monster Truck’s ability to seamlessly integrate influences from grunge and punk era greats that they love so dearly with alt-sounding vintage rock. The resulting album remains anchored in grooves, yet propulsive and volcanic, fueled by frontman Jon Harvey’s colossal and impressive vocal delivery. The crushing first single “Sweet Mountain River” features a highly infectious chorus and premieres at Guitar World today.  The track will also be available for purchase on iTunes March 26.

Hailing from Hamilton, Monster Truck was formed in 2009 by Jon Harvey (bass, lead vocals), Jeremy Widerman (guitar, vocals), Brandon Bliss (organ, vocals) and Steve Kiely (drums, vocals). What began as a side-project to their other more ‘serious’ bands quickly gained momentum and took on a life of its own.  The band has released 2 EPs since their inception; a self-titled, and notably self-released EP produced by Gus Van Go & Werner F (The Stills, Priestess, Hollerado) and The Brown EP (also produced by Ratz) on Dine Alone Records.


True to their notorious maxim “Don’t F*ck With The Truck”, the band steamrolled across the country, becoming one of the biggest stories in Canadian rock this past year with two singles from The Brown EP (“Seven Seas Blues” and “Righteous Smoke”) reaching Top 10 on Canadian Rock radio, and a sweet EA NHL 2013 where “Seven Seas Blues” is featured on their online trailer advertising.  Just this last two months, the band garnered a 2013 JUNO nomination for “Breakthrough Artist of the Year” and won a 2013 CRMA (Canadian Radio Music Award) in Rock for “Seven Seas Blues“.  The band was also hand-picked to open for Slash on his 2012 North American tour, and opened sold-out dates for Deep Purple, Clutch and The Sheepdogs. 

A Canadian tour to support the release will be announced soon.  For further dates, more details and updates, check back at:

03.26 – Ottawa, ON @ The Observatory
03.30 – London, ON @ Norma Jeans
04.25 – Barrie, ON @ The Mansion Nightclub
04.27 – Kitchener, ON @ Wax Nightclub
06.29 – Gibbons, AB @ Boonstock Music and Arts Festival

FURIOSITY  Track Listing:
01. Old Train

02. The Lion 
03. Power of the People        

04. Sweet Mountain River
05. Psychics

06. Oh Lord

07. For The Sun

08. Boogie

09. Undercover Love
10. The Giant
11. Call It The Spade
12. My Love Is True |


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.