By on September 22, 2012

Mothlite, the creation of Daniel O’Sullivan (Ulver, Æthenor, Sunn O))), Guapo), has released its second album, Dark Age, today via Kscope. Dark Age can be purchased as a CD, vinyl or multiple bundle packages through the Kscope webstore at:
Mothlite media, including a stream of the track “Seeing in the Dark,” live performance footage and more, can be accessed via the Dark Age mini-site at: a glimpse into the new release.

1. Wounded Lions
2. Disappear
3. Seeing In The Dark
4. The Blood
5. Something In The Sky
6. The Underneath
7. Zebras
8. Dreamsinter Nightspore
9. Milk
10. Dark Age
11. Red Rook
The follow-up to 2008’s, The Flax Of Reverie, was produced by Knut Jonas Sellevold (Elektrofant, King Knut), arranger, composer and beat-maker of the highest order. Together he and O’Sullivan have managed to create a bleak soundscape with soaring pop aplomb, flitting from the sparkle and rumble of “The Blood” to the epic washes of “The Underneath” and beyond.
Having spent a lot of time recently working as a collaborator with Æthenor, Miracle and Grumbling Fur, as well as his much acclaimed work as part of Ulver, O’Sullivan felt it was time to return to Mothlite so as to work on something unequivocally personal.
“All the other things are collaborations and there’s a communal interest, but with Mothlite the content is quite personal and to do with me,” said O’Sullivan. “It’s quite easy to neglect, particularly when you’re in a bit of a sh*t storm as I was the past couple of years. This is prevalent in the lyrical content, which denotes a catharsis throughout a period of hysteria and emotional turmoil.”
Now that the album is done, O’Sullivan is ready to move onto new things. “To be honest, I’m really glad that it’s over,” he added. “I felt like I couldn’t move until I got that out there.
“Now that the drama has played out and everyone can see what it is, I can almost do a theatrical version of the scenes within. I don’t want to look as though I’m crying down the microphone night after night if we go on tour. I’d rather have a show.”
Stay tuned for more information on Mothlite and Dark Age, out now via Kscope.
Mothlite online…


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.