Multi-Platinum R&B Singer JOE Delivers Remix f/ FAT JOE

By on June 13, 2013


Multi-platinum selling R&B singer/songwriter/producer Joe delivers a remix for his Top 10 Urban AC radio hit “I’d Rather Have A Love” featuring Terror Squad leader Fat Joe. “I’d Rather Have A Love” is the first single off his highly-anticipated new album DoubleBack: Evolution of R&B which will be released on July 2, 2013 via the newly formed Massenburg Media, helmed by industry heavyweight Kedar Massenburg. 


DoubleBack: Evolution of R&B will be available in 3 versions of the CD, and can be pre-ordered on now. The standard will carry 12 tracks, Target’s version will have 2 bonus tracks and Best Buy will tout the remix of “I’d Rather Have A Love.” More than half of the album was written, produced and or arranged by the soulful crooner himself. Joe also enlisted superstar producers Stargate (Ne-Yo, Beyonce) and DOA (Tyrese, Wale) to collaborate on the new album. In a recent interview with Joe shared the one thing he wants to bring back to R&B is “class.”  In describing the meaning behind the album’s title and the style of the project, Joe states that this was “an ode’ to classic R&B. I double backed to when music was heard with live horns, live strings, and live drums, to a time when soul music was very stylish and elegant.” 


The single “I’d Rather Have A Love” steadily climbs the charts and is #7 nationally at Urban AC reaching an audience of +80 million.  The video for the smooth sexy song was directed by renowned music video and film director Hype Williams and is being played on VH1BET Centric, Music Choice as well as regional video outlets.  “I’d Rather Have A Love” is available now for download at iTunes

Watch Video: “I’d Rather Have A Love”

Joe has become one of R&B’s most accomplished and popular singers over the course of his career, and has received numerous accolades including Grammy nominations for his 4x platinum album My Name Is Joe.  Singles such as “All The Things (Your Man Won’t Do),” “All That I Am,” “No One Comes Close” and “I Wanna Know” established Joe as a bona fide hit maker who sold more than 10 million albums worldwide. Moreover, Joe is a sought-after collaborator who has worked with some of music’s biggest and best artists including Mariah Carey (“Thank God I Found You”), Big Pun (“Still Not A Player”) Nas (“Get To Know Me”), 50 Cent (“Ride With You”) and G-Unit (“Wanna Get To Know You”). His 2001 hit song “Stutter” feat. Mystikal remained #1 on the Billboard Hot 100 for 4 weeks. Joe’s last three albums were released independently and each debuted at #1 on Billboard’s Top Independent Chart.  His 2011 independent release entitled The Good, The Bad, The Sexy debuted at #8 on the Billboard 200 and #2 on the Hot R&B/Hip Hop albums chart.


Currently Joe is doing live performances across the country including Phoenix on June 15, New York City on June 28, Washington DC on June 29, and is planning a national and international tour. For updated information on where to see Joe live follow him on Twitter:


1.    Something For You                                 

2.    Easy                                                 

3.    Baby  

4.    Compromise                                                   

5.    Magic City 

6.    I’d Rather Have A Love                           

7.    Love & Sex (featuring Fantasia)             

8.    Sexy                                                    

9.    More                                                    

10.  Mary Jane                                            

11.  1 to 1 Ratio (featuring Too Short)          

12.  DoubleBack                                         


Target (2 Bonus Tracks)

1.    Walk Away

2.    Smoove


Best Buy Bonus Track

1.    I’d Rather Have A Love (Remix featuring Fat Joe)



Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.