múm To Release Compilation of Rare Recordings, ‘Early Birds’ Out July 17 on Morr Music

By on May 12, 2012

múm To Release Compilation of Rare Recordings

Early Birds Out July 17 on Morr Music

Experimental Icelandic collective múm has announced the release of Early Birds, a compilation of 15 songs recorded between 1998 and 2000. Out on July 17th through Morr Music, the album comprises long-lost and extremely rare tracks taken from demo tapes and limited edition vinyl releases. Early Birds acts as a pastiche of the band’s formative years, but the soft electronic glitches, incorporation of traditional and unconventional instruments, and múm’s minimalistic melodies remain the common thread. The LP’s nostalgic artwork and the illustration above was fittingly designed by Ingibjörg Birgisdóttir, who created videos for labelmates Seabear and Sin Fang, and experienced the early days of múm first hand.
In the year of 1998 pop music had an “anything goes” mentality: guitars and electro, retro sounds or wicked forays into the digitized future. At this time, founding members Gunnar Örn Tynes and Örvar Þóreyjarson Smárason had been making music together as múm for about a year. The two bandmates were basically nomadic drifters, constantly moving from one basement studio to the next, traveling through Europe, recording anything and everything that came to mind. Whenever they felt like getting some fresh air, they would go out with their DAT recorders to do field recordings – only to return to some unfurnished apartment in Reykjavík, Montpellier or Berlin in order to mix and combine all the recorded material. Early Birds is all about those days. The first half of the compilation leans on the playful side, where experimentation is key. The second half incorporates those quieter tracks, with only a few analog layers, harmonious and blissful, revolving around each other for minutes. Both the LP and CD version include a booklet that explains how each of the 15 (mostly instrumental) tracks came to be. 

Early Birds Tracklisting

01 Bak þitt er sem rennibraut
 02 Póst póstmaður
03 Gingúrt
04 Glerbrot (Previously lost)
05 Hvernig á að særa vini sína
(Previously unreleased)
06 Bak þitt er sem rennibraut
(Bústadavegurer fáviti megamix eftir Músíkvat)
07 Insert Coin  (Bjarne Riis arcade game mjiks eftir múm)
08 Loksins erum við engin (Natturuoperan song)
09 Náttúrúbúrú 10 0,000Orð
11 lalalala blái hnötturinn
12 múm spilar la la la
13 Hufeland
14 Volkspark Friedrichshain (Previously
15 Enginn vildi hlusta á fiðlunginn, því
strengir hans vóru slitnir (getiði ekki verið góð við mömmu okkar)

For more info, please visit:    


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.