Nashville’s Clear Plastic Masks to release debut album May 27 on Serpents & Snakes/Dine Alone Records

By on May 7, 2014
Clear Plastic Masks

(photo credit: Anthony Friend)

The debut full-length LP from emerging Nashville band Clear Plastic Masks (CPM) will be released May 27 on Dine Alone Records/Serpents & Snakes.  Recorded by Andrija Tokic (Alabama Shakes, Natural Child) at Bomb Shelter Studios in Nashville, TN, the album will be available to pre-order HERE on May 6, 2014.  Dine Alone Records is the Canadian distributor for Nashville-based Serpents & Snakes, the boutique imprint from Grammy Award-winning rock band Kings of Leon.  Fans can check out the video premiere for “So Real” at Noisey/Vice HERE and listen to the track “Outcast” HERE.


Formed in New York City in 2011, the 4-piece comprised of Eddy DuQuesne (bass/keys), Charlie Garmendia (drums), Andrew Katz (guitar/keys/vocal) and Matt Menold (guitar/keys) have literally honed a world of influence into sharp, tight, nostalgic rock n’ roll that is at once bone-deep familiar and not like anything else you’ve heard. Recalling the sneer and snarl of the Rolling Stones’ early R&B-influenced work, Clear Plastic Masks’ concise catalogue runs the gamut from mid- ‘70’s New York punk (“Everything Nothing,” “So Real”) to Stax-style soul (“Outcast,” “Baby Come On”) to tight, near-ELO disco rock (“Dos Cobras”) to Lou Reed-esque spoken word (“Aliens”) to more recent nods toward contemporaries like Alabama Shakes (“When the Night Time Comes”).


Past dates include a North American tour alongside White Denim, along with a number of US tours with Alabama Shakes. CPM are currently on tour with Hurray for The Riff Raff, and will join Spanish Gold (ft. members of City and Colour, My Morning Jacket) for a US tour this Summer. Fans can catch them routing through the US right now with Houndmouth.  For more information on the band and all upcoming tour dates, please visit the links below.


BEING THERE Tracklisting:
01 In Case You Forgot

02 Outcast

03 Baby Come On

04 Pegasus In Glue

05 Aliens

06 So Real

07 Dos Cobras

08 Hungry Cup

09 Shakedown
10 When the Nighttime Comes

11 Working Girl

Website | Twitter | Facebook


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.