Northcote signs to Xtra Mile Recordings

By on October 3, 2013


It’s with great pleasure that Xtra Mile Recordings welcomes the musical talents of Northcote to the ever growing roster and unveils details of his forthcoming album.


Canadian Matt Goud (aka Northcote) will release his self-titled album on 11th November 2013 with the stand-out single ‘Hope The Good Things Never Die’ following on 18th November. The releases coincide with a huge tour of the UK and Europe supporting peer and comrade Dave Hause – ex-frontman of The Loved Ones. Full dates are:



13 Dublin Academy 2

14 Belfast McHugh’s

15 Glasgow King Tuts

16 Manchester Gorilla

17 Brighton The Green Door Store

19 Amsterdam Paradiso

20 Hamburg Knust

21 Bremen Lagerhaus

22 Hannover Gig Linden

23 Dresden Beatpol

24 Berlin BiNuu Berlin

26 Cologne Gloria

27 Frankfurt Batschkapp

28 Munich Strom Linienclub

30 Milano Factory (Area2)


02 Vienna B72

03 Stuttgart Universum

04 Antwerp JH Kavka

05 Southampton Joiners

06 London The Garage

07 Nottingham Bodega Social Club

08 Newcastle The Cluny


Born and raised in small-town Saskatchewan, Northcote’searly exposure to music was a mix of traditional country on AM radio and the hymns he learned at his childhood church. However, it wasn’t until he discovered punk and hardcore music that he realized music’s healing and therapeutic power.


Over the past 8 years, few young musicians in Canada have put on as many miles as Goud who toured for years as a member of a post-hardcore band and has more recently transitioned into life on the road as a singer/songwriter with accompaniment by an ever-rotating slew of guests and friend musicians.


On signing with Xtra Mile Recordings, Northcote’s main man Goud states:

“The Northcote team is excited and grateful to be working with Xtra Mile. I felt at home while playing for the first time in Europe this past spring at the Pirate Satellite Festival in Stuttgart, and I am looking forward to returning next month to support Dave Hause for 25+ shows. We’re very excited to be joining our new label home in Europe.”


The new self-titled album was produced by Colin Stewart (Black Mountain, Cave Singers, Dan Mangan) at The Hive in Vancouver, and is Northcote’s most forthcoming and confident album to date, reflecting this young songwriter’s increasing maturity and experience. Breaking the stereotype of the reserved and solemn cafe singer/songwriter, the album entices both the performers and the listeners to come out of their shell.


On ‘NORTHCOTE’, Goud further strengthens his voice as an emerging Canadian artist. Confident, full chords replace contemplative ballads, and the influence of his eclectic background of punk.

Check out a taster of the album here with the track ‘When You Cry’.  And pre-order the album at the following places:


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.