By on February 21, 2013


Victoria-based singer-songwriter MATT GOUD will be releasing his sophomore full-length album under the moniker of NORTHCOTE on Black Box Recordings in Canada. The self-titled album is scheduled for release on May 7, 2013 and is the follow-up album to 2011’s Gather No Dust. To give fans a little taste of what they can expect on the new album, NORTHCOTE will release a digital 7” on March 12, 2013. Titled Burn Right Past Them All, the digital 7” will include the lead track of the same name and an exclusive b-side. The full track listing for both releases are below.


Produced by COLIN STEWART (YUKON BLONDE, DAN MANGAN) at The Hive in Vancouver, NORTHCOTE’s latest record is his most forthcoming and confident album to date. Penned primarily in the passenger seat of a Dodge van parked along a seaside road in Victoria, BC, GOUD’s inherent ability to incorporate his eclectic background of punk, soul and blues, provides a captivating sonic landscape that entices both the performers and the listeners to come out of their shells.


Songs like “Counting Down the Days” and “I Hope the Good Things Never Die” are filled with grooving soul drums, horns, bouncy bass-lines, atmospheric guitar and sing-along group vocals, creating a sound more fully realized and richer than NORTHCOTE’s previous efforts.


The hope and positivity of the material is apparent in the song “Find Our Own Way”, which challenges: “…whatever you got, you have to let it fly. Whatever you got you, have to give it one try” This song reflects the anxiety of coming of age in a media-saturated culture, where one can be so connected and yet be left feeling inexplicably lonely and at times with little direction or meaning. 


Joined by a slew of guests and friend musicians throughout the album, the self-titled release features BLAKE ENEMARK (WE ARE THE CITY) on Guitar, MAREK TYLER (KATHRYN CALDER, DAN MANGAN) on Drums, OLIVIER CLEMENT (AIDAN KNIGHT) on Horn, and Calgary artist FRANCIS GERRARD on vocals. Victoria-based musician KATHRYN CALDER, known both as a solo artist and as a member of THE NEW PORNOGRAPERS, owns lead vocals on the late-night kitchen party track “Only One Who Knows My Name”.


In anticipation of the new album, Exclaim! will premiere part one of NORTHCOTE’s “Painting An Album” series. Featuring tracks from the new album, watch as Matt Goud and his friends attempt to create a 12’ x 12’ replica of the album artwork here


Tour details in support of the new album will be announced shortly.


Northcote Album Track listing: 

01. How Can We Turn Around
02. When You Cry
03. Hope The Good Things Never Die
04. A Thousand Nights
05. Burn Right Past Them All
06. Counting Down The Days
07. Drive Me Home
08. Knock On My Door
09. Find Our Own Way
10. Speak Freely
11. Walking Home In The Rain
12. The Only One Who Knows My Name

Burn Right Past Them All Track listing:

A.    Burn Right Past them All

B.    When You’re Shining (Exclusive b-side)



Website | Twitter | Facebook | Youtube


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.