Obi Fernandez Streams New Album on AOL Music, “Confessions, Waves and The Garden State” Out Today

By on September 25, 2012

Former Westbound Train frontman Obi Fernandez is proud to release today his debut solo full-length album, Confessions, Waves and The Garden State, via Paper + Plastick Records. The New Jersey-based Fernandez is streaming his new album this entire week on AOL Music. The album stream comes the week that frontman of Westbound Train is set to release his debut solo LP on Paper + Plastick Records, which can be ordered here.

Fernandez’s first solo release is, according to AOL Music, a cross between John Mayer and Bruno Mars. With a smooth and versatile voice, Fernandez definitely falls into the same sonic category as those pop stars, but he also brings a carefree reggae vibe to his relatable lyrics. From opener “It Happens To Me,” which Fernandez released a live acoustic version of, to the fiesty “The Color of Your Voice,” the album has enough variation to keep listeners interested, but always relies on a certain relaxed, reggae-pop core that makes it instantly accessible. 

 Obi Fernandez – Confessions, Waves and The Garden State
September 25, 2012
Paper + Plastick Records

1. It Happens To Me
2. Don’t Turn Away
3. The Color of Your Voice
4. Over
5. Pills
6. Get You Through
7. Check Your Time
8. Only A Fool
9. Ugly Comes Out
10. Overdue