By on February 14, 2013



OLA PODRIDA announce the release of their outstanding new album, GHOSTS GO BLIND, out April 30 on Western Vinyl.  Ghosts Go Blind is the 3rd album from soundtrack composer David Wingo as Ola Podrida, and follows his breakout debut full length Ola Podrida and 2009’s Belly of a Lion.  Both releases were critically praised by Pitchfork, Gorilla vs. Bear, Spin and NPR, to name but a few, and found the band sharing stages with Fleet Foxes, She & Him, Beach House, Explosions in the Sky, and many more.


Turning from home recording for the new album, Ghosts Go Blind  is a fully collaborative effort recorded live to tape by Wingo and his permanent band- Colin Swietek on guitars, Matt Clark on bass, and David Hobizal on drums- at Big Orange studio in Austin, TX. While the songs still retain the intimacy of Wingo’s previous efforts, fans will hear a wider range in the album tracks, and with a near absence of acoustic guitar and no banjo, Ola Podrida has moved past the indie-folk of the previous two albums into completely fresh territory with a great collection of nine dynamic new songs.  Hear the album track “Staying In” from Ghosts Go Blind, already hailed by SPIN as “an electric, often heartbreaking indie-rock record” http://bit.ly/X3ru5E


In addition to his work fronting Ola Podrida, Wingo’s music can be heard in a number of outstanding films.  Most recently he composed soundtracks for Jeff Nichols’ award winning film Take Shelter and collaborated with Explosions In The Sky to co-compose the soundtrack for David Gordon Green’s new film Prince Avalanche  (starring Paul Rudd and Emile Hirsch), out this Summer.  Wingo also collaborated with Lucero on a few tracks for Nichols’ new film Mud (Matthew McConaughey and Reese Witherspoon) which will be in wide release this Spring.


Ola Podrida will be performing March 14 @ SXSW at The Driskell.  The band will be touring in support of the release, more tour dates tba.


GHOSTS GO BLIND Tracklisting


1.  Not Ready To Stop  

2.  Fumbling For The Light

3.  Washing Away

4.  Blind To The Blues

5.  Staying In

6.  Ghosts Go Blind

7.  Speed Of Light

8.  Some Sweet Relief

9.  The Notes Remain


Band site:  http://olapodrida.com/


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.