Ólafur Arnalds Readies Release of First Hollywood Film Score, Releases Song-A-Day ‘Living Room Songs’ Project as EP

By on January 13, 2012

 Ólafur Arnalds Readies Release of First Hollywood Film Score
‘A strong ear for proportion and balance, as if a single misplaced sound could trigger a collapse.’ – Pitchfork
‘Arnalds’ game is more ambience than transcendence… all the more cinematic.’ **** – SPIN

Keep an eye on Arnalds. He will only increase in importance.’- FILTER

Stream Ólafur Arnalds ‘Poland’ From Another Happy Day Soundrack

Icelandic composer Ólafur Arnalds made his Hollywood debut last year after scoring Sam Levinson’s Another Happy Day, the award-winning feature film starring Ellen Barkin, Demi Moore, Kate Bosworth, Ezra Miller and more. Erased Tapes is now pleased to announce the worldwide release of the film’s soundtrack due out on February 28th. Fans can now pre-order the release on CD, vinyl, and download here.

“In mid-December 2010 I was on a holiday in China when I received an email from Sam Levinson about the film. We got on the phone at like 4 in the morning Beijing time and ended up talking all through the night, instantly connecting. He told me that they had been listening to my music while making the film, so the film was already very influenced by my music.
However, it was not until Ellen Barkin – the beautiful force that she is – had pestered the producers for a week, calling them every day about how I am the right one for this film, that they finally gave in. The only catch was that it had to be done two weeks later, in the first week of January. So I ended up scoring nonstop all throughout Christmas, making my mother mad in the process.” – Ólafur Arnalds
Ólafur Arnalds Also Releases Song-A-Day Living Room Songs Project as EP

Ólafur Arnalds has also released Living Room Songs, a series in October where he created and released one new song per day, for one whole week. Inviting the audience into the comfort of his Reykjavik apartment, he recorded the songs live and filmed whole process. In December a full-length version of the series aired followed by a live interactive chat with Ólafur and his fans. Living Room Songs is out now on CD, vinyl, ltd. special edition CD & DVD). Instantly watch the videos or order a physical copy of the release here

Another Happy Day Soundtrack

1. The Land Of Nod
2. Through The Screen
3. Before The Calm
4. Lynn’s Theme
5. Alice Enters
6. The Wait
7. A Family Stroll
8. Poland
9. Out To Sea
10. Autumn Day
11. Everything Must Change


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.