Original Motion Picture Soundtrack of “Chasing Mavericks” Released

By on October 25, 2012

Relativity Music Group is pleased to announce the release of the original motion picture soundtrack of “Chasing Mavericks,” a collection of songs, mostly from the 1990s, that is the perfect accompaniment to a movie about the surfing scene of those years. The soundtrack also features, “I Need An Energy,” a brand-new single by the Scottish born singer-songwriter, Greg Holden, who took the American music scene by storm after co-writing “Home,” the debut single of American Idol-winner Phillip Phillips. Purchase the Chasing Mavericks soundtrack on iTunes here, http://bit.ly/QDNGAy
Chasing Mavericks is the real-life story of Jay Moriarity (played by newcomer Jonny Weston), who discovers at the age of 15 that a legendary surf break called Mavericks is not a myth but really exists just miles from his home in Santa Cruz. Determined to master one of the biggest waves on earth, he persuades the legendary surfer Frosty Hesson (a perfect role for Gerard Butler) to train him for this dangerous undertaking. Directed by Michael Apted (known for the 1999 James Bond movie “The World Is Not Enough”) and Curtis Hanson, whose film “L.A. Confidential” was nominated for nine Academy Awards, Chasing Mavericks also stars Elisabeth Shue as Kristy Moriarity. Although it includes some breathtaking footage of real waves and was made with the collaboration of big names from the surfing world, this is much more than a surfing movie: it tells of the pursuit of personal fulfilment and shows how a seemingly impossible quest transforms the lives of both Moriarity and Hesson.
The soundtrack features a brand-new single by the Scottish born singer-songwriter Greg Holden entitled “I Need An Energy”. The newly emerged star, Holden is known for his #1 charity single “The Lost Boy”.He also scored a spectacular success as the co-writer of “Home”,the debut single of American Idol-winner Phillip Phillips in 2012 (2 million singles). Despite the title and the yearning quality of Holden’s voice and the lyrics, the beat of this song has plenty of energy and a bright, hopeful sound.
This new single comes along with an array of acclaimed 90s songs, such as Mazzy Star’s greatest hit “Fade into You”, with lyrics by Hope Sandoval and music by David Roback. Sandoval’s intense, languid vocals helped this track, which has featured on several movies and many TV programs since its release in 1994, into the top 5 of Billboard’s Modern Rock Tracks chart. The alternative rock band Dinosaur Jr. contribute “Start Choppin'” with frontman J. Mascis’ distinctive guitar sound, a number from their fifth studio album “Where You Been” (1993) and their biggest hit, which made it to number 3 on the Modern Rock Tracks in the USA and the top 20 of the UK singles chart.
The soundtrack of Chasing Mavericks also includes two hits that got to number one on Billboard’s Modern Rock Tracks chart: “Pepper”by the Butthole Surfers, from the band’s first commercially successful album, “Electriclarryland” (1996), with its chanted lyrics over a heavy beat and clashing chords; and the uplifting “Into Your Arms” by the Lemonheads, which headed the Modern Rock Tracks chart for a record-breaking nine weeks. The final track is a “Score Suite” by the score composer, Chad Fischer, who wrote the music for the indie movie hit Garden State.
This adds up to a list of hugely successful songs, a varied mix from the period when the film is set which will have a broad appeal for cinema-goers and those who enjoy quality music of the 1990s. This release by Relativity Music Group on October 23 has the quality to be a top seller among the movie soundtracks of 2012.
Relativity Music Group, the music division of Relativity Media, provides music supervision, music publishing catalogues and soundtrack services for films produced and/or distributed by Relativity Media and other major Hollywood studios, including such titles as: The Raven, American Reunion, Mirror Mirror, Act of Valor, Haywire, Immortals, Like Crazy, Beginners, Bridesmaids, Limitless, The Adjustment Bureau, Biutiful, The Fighter, 30 Rock, Dear John and many others. Looking ahead, Relativity Music Group will release 15 to 20 soundtracks and compilations per year for an exciting slate of films, television shows and special market music ventures through its distribution agreement with EMI/Capitol.
1. “Plowed” – Sponge
2. “Brimful of Asha” – Cornershop
3. “Blue Light” – Mazzy Star
4. “Girlfriend” – Matthew Sweet
5. “Pepper” – Butthole Surfers
6. “Start Choppin'” – Dinasour Jr.
7. “Fade Into You” – Mazzy Star
8. “Into Your Arms” – The Lemonheads
9. “I Need An Energy” – Greg Holden
10. “Score Suite” – Chad Fischer 

Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.