Outline In Color: Jury of Wolves Review

By on December 5, 2012

 Track Listing:
1. The Kindling
2. Another Nightmare
3. A Jury Of Wolves
4. Hope In The Wrong Hands
5. The Chase Scene
6. Charlie Machine
7. Karma Made Me An Arsonist
8. The Good In Me
9. A Fracture, A Fallout
10. I’ve Had This Dream Before
11. I Ain’t Afraid Of No Ghost
12. The Good In Me [Acoustic]
13. Tapdance At Knuckle Junction
14. It’s Gonna Be Me [N Sync Cover]

Post-hardcore act Outline In Color have earned quite the reputation; sharing the stage with such acts as The Word Alive, A Skylit Drive, and Memphis May Fire. The band has now set the tone to solidify that name by teaming up with producer Andrew Wade (A Day To Remember) for the release of their debut LP: Jury of Wolves. 

The album’s opening track “The Kindling” sets the mood with a chilling piano interlude of haunting vocals and distorted screams. The next song “Another Nightmare” unleashes an explosive metalcore rhythm laced with an impressive display of electronic synth: a real sense of urgency can be heard in the screams of vocalist Trevor Tatro; his vocal brutality creates the chaos, while the clean vocals of Simonsen provide a beautifully composed melodic chorus. Tatro’s impressive range of screaming can be heard in the title track “Jury Of Wolves” a song that balances the brutality of thrashing guitar work with an extremely catchy chorus. The album’s 4thtrack “Hope In The Wrong Hands” builds on the albums electronic metal sound with the implementation of an exotic guitar lead: an impressive display of finger magic that stands out as the centerpiece of the song. “The Chase Scene” and “Charlie Machine” continue the band’s electric assault with an impressive grace comparable to their genre’s champion: We Came As Romans. The album’s 7thtrack “Karma Made Me An Arsonist” is all the proof the listener needs to believe that this band is just as good, if not better, than some of the top ranking Fearless Records/Rise Records bands who dominate the scene today. The band slows it down in “I’ve Had This Dream Before” an impressive performance of Outline’s versatility that highlights their more diverse musical talent. Jury of Wolves begins to close with the acoustic performance of “The Good In Me” an appropriately soft and delicate ending to this explosive and emotional album. As a bonus, the band displays their fun side with a metal cover of N Sync’s “It’s Gonna Be Me.” After hearing how effective Outline executes this cover, the listener will be certain that this band is destined for a slot on the Pop Goes Punk compilation. 

The magic of Wade’s mixing shines throughout the entire album and catalyzes the release of Outline’s energetic musical talent. For fans of band’s like The Word Alive, We Came As Romans, and A Skylit Drive, this album is a must have; it will be an instant favorite and brings a new element to the genre. Be sure to grab your copy on iTunes today; Jury of Wolves will not disappoint.

Review by Matt Crane – HHM



Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.