Paper + Plastick Records Releases Free 36-Song Digital Subscription Compilation

By on February 27, 2014

Paper + Plastick Records

A year ago, Paper + Plastick Records launched a free digital subscription. The idea was born out of a simple fact: Music is available everywhere you look, and it’s free if you want it to be free. The end result is that people don’t search for new music anymore; they don’t have to. It’s getting shoved in their virtual faces left and right. You don’t have to look past your Twitter feed to have someone yelling at you to listen to this new punk band and logging into Tumblr results in a dozen Bandcamp links for pay-what-you-want EPs.

A weird side effect of this is how people react to free downloads. Music is SO free that getting someone to download something for free is difficult now. It’s like people can’t be bothered with the time it takes to download an MP3; the size of the file is too much of a hassle or something.

So we started this subscription. The concept is that you punch in your email and you’re added to a list – a list that is now populated by thousands of subscribers. Every week, you get one email in your inbox. The email has a link to download a song, a couple songs, or a full EP or LP. We tell you a little bit about what you’re downloading – sometimes one of our bands and sometimes our friends’ bands – and direct you to purchase the music if you like what you hear. That’s it.

To celebrate a year of giving away free tunes, Paper + Plastick has released a (free, duh!) 36-song compilation of stuff we’ve emailed people over the last 52 weeks. Included are bands like Less Than Jake, Frameworks, Hostage Calm, Pentimento, Red City Radio, Blacklist Royals, The Moms and many, many more.

The compilation can be downloaded right here

1. Brother Brother – Flatfoot 56
2. Hellbound & Helpless – We Are The Union
3. Old Chokes – Frameworks
4. Two Years – The Braces
5. The Color of Your Voice – Obi Fernandez
6. Flesh and Bone – Russ Rankin
7. Today’s Top Story (Bonus Track) – The Sky We Scrape
8. The Reason – The Attack
9. Don’t Die On Me Now – Hostage Calm
10. Put Myself Together – Light Years
11. Help Save The Youth Of America From Exploding (Cover) – Red City Radio
12. Dollar Menu Date Night (feat. Chris Fogal of Gamits) – The JV Allstars
13. Sameless Master – Paper Dolls
14. Breakfast For Dinner (Sometimes) – Bummers
15. Heartstrings – Martin
16. The Sinking of The S.S. Git Some – Caulfield Rebellion
17. Van Envy – Caseracer
18. Doing Business – Casual
19. I’m Too Rough – The Headies
20. Play Hard Play Fast Play Together – Protagonist
21. Don’t Die – Nightmares For A Week
22. No No Song – Jaya The Cat
23. The Pond – Among Giants
24. Domo Arigato – You Vandal
25. Surf City – Sexx
26. Welcome To The Sympathy Party – Aspiga
27. Shit Tattoos – Big D & The Kids Table
28. Haunted Haus – Rose Cross
29. Magnetic Personality     – Houdini’s Liquor Cabinet
30. Any Minute Now… – Pentimento
31. Sunstroke – Less Than Jake
32. Vagabond Christmas Song (feat. Red City Radio) (Acoustic) – Blacklist Royals
33. I’m Working Retail for Christmas – Reed Wolcott
34. Seventeen – Junior Battles
35. Sleeping Softly – Jr. Juggernaut
36. Blow Me – The Moms


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.