Perfect Future: Old Wounds: Warmth in The Winter of 1914-1915

By on May 24, 2012

Bands who choose to write strict concept albums toe that thin line between brave and stupid. I don’t mean loosely based concept albums, those where the songs happen to have a similar theme, but lofty projects that are meant to be more linear, like a short story. I don’t feel that’d it’d be fair to break this album down song-by-song since it’s difficult to even listen to that way – so here’s a review of the whole thing as one piece:
Warmth in The Winter of 1914-1915 is a look at war from different perspectives. Lyrically speaking it tends to drift from moments of incredible depth (almost like it could be a true first hand account) to those that are so simple you wonder how some lines made the cut. In some tracks it feels like accidental genius on the band’s part. The simplicity of the lyrics works well in the track “Prologue: A Sea of Wheat” where one section is a conversation involving a child. Obviously a young kid would speak simply, so the lyrics should be simple. But I may be reading too much into it.
In most cases, the vocals would not be all that fun to listen to, but in this case they fit perfectly. Ranging from near spoken word to throat shredding shouts, group chants to sound bites. The marching drum stylings create a semi-constant mood for the album that allows room for the sometimes nimble, sometimes powerful guitars to experiment and branch out. Certain riffs start to feel repetitive, but only for a moment.
Overall it could have been better, but for what the band was trying to tackle here they did a fantastic job. I can only imagine the music they could come out with without the constraints of a concept album. Check it out here:
RIYL: This Town Needs Guns, reading books, La Dispute
Track Listing: 
1. Prologue: A Sea of Wheat
2. State-Sanctioned Morality
3. How The World Works
4. End Bringer
5. Divine Tragedy
6. On Christmas Eve, the Infantry Sang
7. Men Aren’t Moles; Crawl Out of Those Holes
8. Bury The Dead
9. …Must Come to An End
10. Into The Light