By on January 21, 2013



Dine Alone Records will release the debut full-length LP from Seattle’s Pickwick on March 12, 2013 in Canada.  The band’s first single, “Lady Luck”, featuring Sharon Van Etten is available for download now at Pickwick’s website: http://bit.ly/Pickwickdwld


To hear Pickwick tell it, their popular Myths 7-inch series was merely a group of rough sketches they’d been developing over the previous two years put to wax. That a CD collection of those “demos” held their hometown Seattle’s Sonic Boom Records #1 sales spot for a period of weeks in 2011 shows those six songs amounted to something more than tossed off basement recordings.


With a successful year of festival invites and an ever larger string of hometown sell-outs behind them in 2012, the band refocused on recording and have, a year later, emerged with Can’t Talk Medicine. Upgrading from the basement used for Myths and setting up shop in their living room, the band’s own multi-instrumentalist Kory Kruckenberg served as engineer. The 13 finished tracks include three re-recorded and fully realized Myths cuts and a collaboration with Sharon Van Etten on lead single “Lady Luck.” 


Kicking off the year with a sold out headlining New Year’s Eve show at Seattle’s The Showbox at the Market, the band will head out on the road in early March working their way through the west toward SXSW.


Watch the trailer for Can’t Talk Medicine here: http://bit.ly/pickwicktrailer


Can’t Talk Medicine Tracklisting:


1.    Halls of Columbia

2.    The Round

3.    Hacienda Motel

4.    Well, Well

5.    Myths

6.    Brother Roland

7.    Letterbox

8.    The Shadow

9.    Lady Luck (feat. Sharon Van Etten)

10.  Can’t Talk Medicine

11.  Staged Names

12.  Window Sill

13.  Santa Rosa



Upcoming Tour Dates:


03.07 – Felton, CA – Don Quixote’s

03.08 – San Francisco, CA – The Independent

03.09 – Los Angeles, CA – Echo

03.10 – Phoenix, AZ – Crescent Ballroom

03.18 – Aspen, CO – The Belly Up

03.19 – Denver, CO – Bluebird Theatre

03.21 – Salt Lake City, UT – Urban Lounge



Facebook | Website | Twitter


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.