Preview UK’s Little People “Aldgate Patterns” New Album ‘We Are But Hunks of Wood’ Out

By on October 11, 2012

Little People Announces
We Are But Hunks of Wood
 Released Today October 9, 2012 on Youth & Progress Records
Currently on iTunes Electronic Chart at #6
Listen to LP premiere link here:
Watch Video For “Aldgate Patterns” as Premiered on XLR8R HERE 
Red Bull  ‘Video of the Day’
Featured in The Atlantic ‘Most Watched Video List’
Vimeo ‘Staff Pick’ 

& Download the Track Free HERE

While I tend to write off music videos that involve masks and gorgeous natural settings as a kind of “magical hipsterism” or Burning Man redux, “Aldgate Patterns” is a finely crafted, beautiful video that’s worth repeat viewings. “
– The Atlantic
“…Living on repeat. It’s a sweet, uplifting tune that will brighten up your day.”
– Red Bull
“This dude’s incredible downtempo sound [is] true beauty…read up on this fantastic producer when you get the chance.”
– Potholes In My Blog
– The Dankles
“Colorful and inventive…playfully emotive tune.”
“A majestic track. Little People, big sounds.”
– Earmilk
Little People is the moniker of UK based downtempo electronic musician Laurent Clerc. He returns with his second full length album We Are But Hunks Of Wood on Youth & Progress Records. Along the lines of DJ Shadow, RJD2 and Four Tet, Little People plays downtempo, intelligent electronic music. Part beats, bleeps and real live instrumentation, this new record falls in a place where Bonobo and Explosions in the Sky would hypothetically meet. Having followed an unconventional route to success, thanks to in no small part to Pandora radio generating him huge amounts of exposure, he has seemingly existed outside of traditional promotional channels.
This new album comes a whole 6 years after his first album (Mickey Mouse Operation) was released on Illicit Recordings. His debut, an accomplished ode to late 90’s instrumental hip hop, has gone on to be in the iTunes Top 30 selling electronic albums in the US for the last 2 years.
We are But Hunks of Wood is a sonic leap forward for Little People, which establishes him as a key proponent of the downtempo electronic music scene. Having initially come from the world of instrumental hip hop where tracks are often more akin to just sketches or interesting ideas, Laurent Clerc’s pieces are fully fledged songs whose arrangements create a sense of mood and movement, effortlessly going from nuanced electronic patterns to soaring string arrangements over the course of the journey. This is no beat tape.

The video for “Aldgate Patterns” was exlusively premiered on XLR8R this week, and the track is also available for free download. Little People approached the production company WORK and director Adam Amaral aka Master Of Shapes (MoS) to create the music video. The director recognized that “Aldgate Patterns” had a strong sense of narrative and that it would naturaly lend itself to some sort of epic journey. As XLR8R says, “The piece… was impeccably conceived, shot, and produced, courtesy of Work, and offers a great introduction to all of the artists involved.”  The video is receiving critical praise, including The Atlantic’s ‘Most Watched Video List’, Red Bull’s ‘Video of the Day’ and Vimeo’s’Staff Pick’ selection.

There are many reasons why it has taken time for Little People to release his follow up record. However, the primary reason is that he feels he has to reinvent his work methodology through writing and record his tracks from the ground up. He views sampling as tantamount to taking another man’s 2 bars of inspiration and passing it off as your own. The story of the samplist making the jump to creating his own material is not new, but it isn’t always a successful one. Laurent has taken the time to make sure that leap was taken with aplomb.

1. Marzipan Children
2. Eminence Grise
3. Cartouche
4. Aldgate Patterns
5. Wonderland
6. Make Me Better
7. Electrickery
8. Offal Waffle
9. M.N.O.P.Q.
10. Farewell

11. Underland


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.