Reactions Announces EP Details; Archetypes To Be Released June 19

By on May 12, 2012

Reactionshas announced the details behind its third EP, the six-song Archetypes, which will be released on June 19. Check out the album art and tracklisting for the EP, produced by A Change of Pace’s Dan Parker, below.

The band previously released a first single from the EP, entitled “The Self,” for streaming on You can now embed the song on your website or blog via this YouTube video.

Listen/embed now: Reactions – “The Self”

Archetypes is the follow-up to the Under My Skin and For What It’s Worth EPs, which are still available for free download from the band here and here, respectively.

Under My Skin free download
For What It’s Worth free download

Archetypesfeatures a heavy modern rock/post-hardcore sound, ranging from thoughtful guitar parts to catchy choruses and hard-hitting breakdowns. praised “The Self” in its feature of the song: “As you travel through the song’s mesmerizing guitars, banging percussion, and metal-heavy vocals, you’ll be hit with the odd sensation that you’re standing still while the music rushes past you. It’s an interesting phenomena, and one that will have you coming back for multiple spins.”

June 19, 2012
1. The Shadow 
2. The Missing
3. The Anima
4. The Self
5. The Persona
6. The Animus

More about Reactions:
REACTIONS is not the typical rock band you might expect to find in Tempe AZ. Comprised of a diverse array of musical backgrounds, the band is made up of “secret” members, all hailing from previously well-known independent projects. Constructed of driving rhythms, catchy hooks and hard-hitting breakdowns, Reactions has created a new blend of rock and post-hardcore that is sure to turn heads.
Reactions was founded on a question…“Music is something you hear, right?” In an era where we obsessively consume the appearance of products, the concept of “hearing” may well be non-existent. Reactions launched the “Faceless” movement soon after the band was formed. The intent is to promote self-expression and encourage listeners to take pride in being different.

By covering their faces, band members Joseph Cook, Otis Loken, Tom Wright, Tony Azevedo and Kane Cooper give up the individualized attention typically desired by musicians. The act is done in an attempt to create a community of people brought together not by a shared interest in the latest trend, but by the love for music.

Reactions was formed from members of Arizona pop-rock band Sound The City, Minnesota hardcore band Of Salt & Swine and Arizona rock band RadioDriveBy. The combination of these members triggered a profound change in musical direction.

The band’s debut EP, Under My Skin, was produced by Dan Parker (A Change of Pace, The Summer Set, Hello Hollywood), and exhibits listener-friendly rock ‘n’ roll and infectiously laced pop, mixed with the hard hitting components of post-hardcore.

Starting 2012 with a fire, Reactions released their sophomore EP, For What It’s Worth, produced by Curtis Douglas (The Maine, Blessthefall, This Century). From the EP’s more defined post-hardcore sound to its softer ballads, For What It’s Worth certainly lives up to its namesake.


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.