Readymade/Dine Alone Records to release Brendan Benson’s ‘You Were Right’

By on October 1, 2013


Photo Credit: Adriel Denae

Critically beloved songwriter/producer and co-founder of The Raconteurs, Brendan Benson is set to return with his latest full-length You Were Right this fall. The album will be released on vinyl on November 29 and will be available digitally and on CD December 10 on Benson’s own Readymade Records with distribution via Dine Alone Records in Canada. Recorded at Benson’s Nashville-based Readymade Studios, some of the album’s 15 tracks premiered over the past year as part of Benson’s monthly singles series, which can be found at


Benson will celebrate the album’s release with a special Brendan Benson & Friends show at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium on December 18. The special evening will feature unique collaborations between Benson and some of his favorite artists, showcasing new and old songs as well as covers. Guest performers and collaborators will include Jack White, Adriel Denae, Eric Burdon, Butch Walker, Jessie Baylin, Ken Stringfellow, Jon Auer, Cory Chisel, Willy Mason, The Howlin’ Brothers (who will also perform an opening set), Young Hines and more, highlighting the important collaborations that have run throughout his career. The show will benefit the David Lynch Foundation with proceeds going to veterans and at-risk children in the Nashville area. 


Born in Detroit and based in Nashville, Benson has made a name for himself as a producer and songwriter in addition to the critical acclaim he has received for his own records. Benson has produced albums for Eric Burdon & The Greenhornes, Willy Mason and Cory Chisel & the Wandering Sons and has collaborated with Loretta Lynn, The White Stripes, Adele, The Stooges, Jake Bugg and many more. Along with his solo work Benson is also a member of The Raconteurs and owns Nashville’s Readymade Studios. He founded Readymade Records in early 2012, signing Young Hines, Cory Chisel & the Wandering Sons, The Lost Brothers and The Howlin’ Brothers to the label shortly thereafter.


Earlier this year, Benson released an exclusive Diamond 7” via Readymade/Dine Alone Records. The 7” features “Diamond” with a re-mastered demo of “Good To Me” on the b-side. To download the track “Diamond” click here. To purchase the album visit:

Track listingYou Were Right – Brendan Benson
01. It’s Your Choice

02. Rejuvenate Me
03. As of Tonight
04. Diamond
05. Long Term Goal
06. I Don’t Wanna See You Anymore
07. I’ll Never Tell
08. Swallow You Whole
09. She’s Trying to Poison Me
10. Purely Automatic
11. New Words of Wisdom
12. Oh My Love
13. The Fritz
14. Swimming
15. Red White and Blues

Website | Twitter | Facebook


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.