Robyn Hitchcock Announces New Record; Offers Video

By on December 18, 2012

Yep Roc Records is excited to announce the March 5, 2013 release of the new Robyn Hitchcock album, Love From London. The record was produced and engineered by Paul Noble, and features Noble on bass, guitar, keyboards and vocals; Jenny Adejayan on cello and vocals; Lizzie Anstey on vocals and keyboards and Jenny Macro, Lucy Parnell and Anne Lise Frokedal on vocals. A lo-fi rehearsal video featuring Green Gartside, Stephen Irvine, Terry Edwards, Mark Bedford, Adejayan and Noble in a London pub on a Sunday performing “Be Still” from the new album is available for posting HERE.


Hitchcock also celebrates his 60th birthday next March with a retrospective show on February 28th at the Village Underground in London where he will be playing songs from each of his albums, accompanied by some of his favorite British musicians.


Hitchcock describes his songs as “paintings you can listen to.” Love From London “celebrates life in a culture imperiled by economic and environmental collapse,” he says. “We are surfing on the momentum of chaos. If a consensus on global warming comes from the people, then the media, the politicians, and the corporations will h

ave to adapt to it. Rock and Roll is an old man’s game now, so I’m staying in it.”


Born in London in 1953, Robyn Hitchcock has written and recorded over 500 songs, including: “Where Are The Prawns,” “I Wanna Destroy You,” “The Cheese Alarm,” “Sometimes A Blonde,” “No, I Don’t Remember Guildford,” “To Be Human,” “Where Do You Go When You Die,” “Uncorrected Personality Traits,” “Full Moon in My Soul,” “Chinese Bones,” “Madonna Of The Wasps,” and recently a lament for the Arctic polar thaw “There Goes The Ice,” recorded with KT Tunstall, with whom he was on a Cape Farewell environmental expedition to Greenland in 2008.


Since founding the art-rock band The Soft Boys in 1976, Hitchcock has played with many respected musicians including John Paul Jones, Gillian Welch & Dave Rawlings, Peter Buck, Nick Lowe, Abigail Washburn, Grant Lee Phillips, Martin & Eliza Carthy, Howe Gelb, Krystle Warren, Graham Coxon and Johnny Marr among others.


In 1996 Jonathan Demme directed an in-concert film about him in New York called Storefront Hitchcock, and in 2003 cast him in his remake of The Manchurian Candidate and in 2007’s Rachel Getting Married.


The tracklisting for Love From London is below:


1. Harry’s Song

2. Be Still

3. Stupefied

4. I Love You

5. Devil On a String

6. Strawberries Dress

7. Death and Love

8. Fix You

9. My Rain

10. End of Time


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.