Roots rock band Before The Flood announces new album ‘Hole In The Sky’

By on July 21, 2015

Before The FloodRoots Rock group Before The Flood are set to release their sophomore album Hole in the Sky co-produced with Josh Van Tassel (Great Lake Swimmers, Royal Wood).  The band will kick off the album with a CD release party at the Horseshoe in Toronto on Friday, August 14, 2015.

BTF’s style and performances are constantly evolving, however, they continue to draw comparisons to Wilco, The Shins, The Weakerthans & Skydiggers.  “Our collective influences range a great deal,” says guitarist and vocalist Steve Davis, “from the songwriting greats Tom Waits, Bob Dylan and Leonard Cohen to ground-breaking bands like Radiohead to Canadian acts Broken Social Scene and Sam Roberts Band.


Before the Flood formed in 2005 with the line-up currently consisting of Davis, Jeff Boulton (drums), Aaron Christie (vocals/guitar) Jason LaCrosse (bass) Mike Harvey (violin, mandolin and vocals).  The backbone of the band has been strong, diverse songwriting and rich, textured arrangements.  The bands’ debut album Bars Wire and Wood (2008) had two singles that charted on college radio across Canada.

“Over the last 10 years we’ve had two other integral members,” Davis explains, “Rachel Boulton on keyboards sings on our new LP, and Jason McGibbon who’s played guitar, bass, percussion and sung with us for many years was also a big contributor.”

The artwork for the new album has a vintage 3D theme complete with 3D glasses. “The 3D imagery used on our album explores the need to see things from different perspectives,” Davis explains, “and how perceptions change through different lenses.  It also speaks to the fullness and many dimensions of our music.”


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.