By on June 8, 2013


In 2012 Rubik relocated to an abandoned military compound in Finland’s capital Helsinki. The band called it Tehdas (“factory” in Finnish). Tehdas is a physical location as well as a metaphysical one; the band’s working methods include “punching in” in the afternoon and working through the night experimenting on musical ideas, sounds and concepts. 

After being holed up in the factory for over 12 months through a hot summer and a bitter cold winter, the band is now coming out with their first new material after 2010’s critically acclaimed, Nordic Music Prize nominated album Solar.
The first in a series of Tehdas products is Fake Music Mixtape, a 30-minute free download mixtape of all new Rubik material.

Artturi Taira (vocals, guitar, keyboards): “We were going through the pile of tapes recorded at Tehdas when we ran into these eerie songs that felt like they could’ve been from another world, performed by our parallel selves. So, we thought it would be nice to just finish off and release something very quickly instead of waiting for six months and not feeling it anymore. And because of the nature and the sound of these songs we wanted to call them Fake Music, as opposed to, you know, music.”

Fake Music Mixtape free download, tracklist, liner notes and more at

Rubik’s previous album Solar was nominated for the Nordic Music Prize (alongside Björk and Lykke Li), Impala’s European Independent Album of the Year, the esteemed Finnish Teosto prize and a Finnish Grammy for best indie/alternative album. Solar was a breakthrough success in their native Finland, topping almost every critics’ and readers’ poll of the main music magazines. The band also toured extensively in Europe (including a slot at Barcelona’s Primavera festival) and the US, where they opened up for Juno award winning Canadian artist Lights across the country.

Links: / /


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.