Run Things release ‘Dumb In The Sun’ 7″ on White Iris Records

By on February 4, 2014

Run Things

White Iris Records have launched their White Label Series, a collabortive effort among various artists, producers, and mixers. The first release in the series is the LA-based band, Run Things. Dumb In The Sun, is their first offering to the public. The title track is a vibey ballad that stays cool amidst its vulnerability and driving beat. While the b-side “Shangri-La,” is a multi-chaptered track that captures the powerfully frenetic sound the trio can conjure when least restrained.

DOWNLOAD: “Dumb In The Sun”


Run Things was born in the ashes of colliding projects in the crowded Echo Park music scene, the group found common ground in a sound whose species is instinctively pop. Their design was to create a breed of songs that calls upon the reinterpreted American music of British bands like Echo & the Bunnymen, New Order and Dire Straits. The formula is not that of reinvention or revival, but is the next stage of the genre’s filter. After creating a deep cache of songs, they reached out to producer Lewis Pesacov (Fool’s Gold, Best Coast) to help them get to a place they could call their own.

Dumb In The Sun 7″ is available on iTunes and on 250 hand-numbered
limited edition vinyl.

Run Things is Joshua Thorpe (vocals, guitar), Gregory Shadwick (bass, keys)
and Daniel Goldbatt (drums).

More On Run Things:

White Iris Records


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.