Russia’s Motorama to release ‘Poverty’ March 10 on Talitres

By on February 5, 2015

Russia’’s Motorama will release their third album, Poverty on March 10 via eccentric French label Talitres. “Uncannily, for a band from a southern port near the Ukraine border, Motorama resemble a bunch of New Yorkers emulating the sound of 80s Manchester,” says the BBC. “It would be preposterous if the result didn’t sound so sublime.”

Prior to their second full-length, Calendar (2012), Motorama was a wonderfully kept secret. From the port city of Rostov-on-Don, Southern Russia, the band was producing a Manchester-inspired cold wave of icy and hypnotic post-punk. Icy but not frozen, hypnotic but awake. Before long, their compositions improved in clarity, lyricism and assurance: the prominent rock of their first recordings now opening its doors to romantic and melodic pop.

Motorama takes their name from the American road movie released in 1991 starring Drew Barrymore and directed by Barry Shils. Praised by critics and audience alike and establishing themselves as one of the musical sensations of the moment, the quintet is on tour throughout Europe over the next month with plans to hit the US later this year.



Poverty Track List

  1. Corona
  2. Dispersed Energy
  3. Red Drop
  4. Heavy Wave
  5. Impractical Advice
  6. Lottery
  7. Old
  8. Similar Way
  9. Stand In My Way
  10. Write To Me

Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.