Sally Shapiro Debuts New Video for “What Can I Do”

By on December 4, 2012

Sally Shapiro Debuts New Mixed Media Video for ‘What Can I Do’

New Album Somewhere Else Out February 26      

“Ear candy, ethereal, featherweight dance pop.” – USA Today     

   “Bedded with newly warmed synth tones and shimmering guitars, ‘What Can I Do’ offers a tender take on acoustic pop that eschews the expected electro backdrop.” – MTV Buzzworthy 

Watch the video for ‘What Can I Do’ at the Stereogum premiere or at YouTube


Download ‘He Keeps Me Alive’ (Cedric Gervais Remix) at SoundCloud 


Swedish electro-pop duo Sally Shapiro has debuted a dreamy new video for ‘What Can I Do‘ with Stereogum. The single was premiered last month with Pitchfork, and is the first off their forthcoming Somewhere Else album, out on February 26 with Paper Bag Records. Director Jarett Sitte explains, “I followed the theme of becoming attached to someone, and the feeling of desperation and loss when they begin to slip away, the fear that you might not find something like that again in your world. In the video the character is deserted by what she loves on her world, literally, but follows the one who is escaping and becomes a part of their world instead. I wanted the video to have a dream-like quality, a trait I find within Sally Shapiro’s music. To accomplish this I used a mix of film and hand drawn animation and graphics, mixing the real and unreal.”

Featuring Electric Youth (known from the Drive soundtrack), Anoraak and Le Prix, Somewhere Else breaks the synth-pop duo’s silence as the first release since their 2009 full-length Guilty Pleasure. The duo’s melancholic harmonies and the 80s disco feel are still present, but there are also indie pop influences (á la Belle & Sebastian), as well as touches of funk, IDM, trance, jazz and ambient. In 2007, Paper Bag Records released Shapiro’s debut, Disco Romance, a nostalgic trip back to romantic italo disco of 1984. The album was revered by the press, and was deemed one of Pitchfork‘s ‘Top 50 albums of 2007.’ The duo was subsequently remixed by Lindstrøm, Tensnake, Junior Boys, CFCF, and Juan MacLean. Known for her shyness, Shapiro does not reveal her real name, will not even let Agebjörn into the studio when she sings, and has never performed her songs live.  

Somewhere Else Tracklisting  

1. Prescript
2. I Dream With An Angel Tonight
3. All My Life
4. This City’s Local Italo Disco DJ Has A Crush On Me
5. What Can I Do
6. If It Doesn’t Rain
7. Sundown
8. Starman (with Electric Youth)
9. Lives Together
10. Don’t Be Afraid (with Anoraak)
11. Architectured Love (with Le Prix) 12. Postscript


For more info, please visit:


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.