Sally Shapiro Releases Second Single ‘Starman (feat. Electric Youth)’

By on January 11, 2013


Swedish electro-pop duo Sally Shapiro has released the second single ‘Starman feat. Electric Youth (radio edit)’ off their Somewhere Else album, out on February 26 with Paper Bag Records. The track is co-written and performed with Canadian duo Electric Youth, whose single ‘A Real Hero’ from the Drive soundtrack has over 12 million views on YouTube. The ‘Starman’ single, which includes a remix from Victoria, BC producer Miami Nights 1984, will be available for purchase digitally from January 28 on iTunes and the Paper Bag Records website, along with a pre-order of Somewhere Else. Their first single ‘What Can I Do’ was released via Pitchfork in November, and last month Stereogum premiered its corresponding animated video.

Featuring Electric Youth, Anoraak and Le Prix, Somewhere Else breaks the synth-pop duo’s silence as the first release since their 2009 full-length Guilty Pleasure. The duo’s melancholic harmonies and the 80s disco feel are still present, but there are also indie pop influences (á la Belle & Sebastian), as well as touches of funk, IDM, trance, jazz and ambient. In 2007, Paper Bag Records released Shapiro’s debut, Disco Romance, a nostalgic trip back to romantic italo disco of 1984. The album was revered by the press, and was deemed one of Pitchfork’s ‘Top 50 albums of 2007.’ The duo was subsequently remixed by Lindstrøm, Tensnake, Junior Boys, CFCF, and Juan MacLean. Known for her shyness, Shapiro does not reveal her real name, will not even let Agebjörn into the studio when she sings, and has never performed her songs live.  

Stream first single ‘What Can I Do’ SoundCloud

Somewhere Else Tracklisting 

1. Prescript
2. I Dream With An Angel Tonight
3. All My Life
4. This City’s Local Italo Disco DJ Has A Crush On Me
5. What Can I Do
6. If It Doesn’t Rain
7. Sundown
8. Starman (with Electric Youth)
9. Lives Together
10. Don’t Be Afraid (with Anoraak)
11. Architectured Love (with Le Prix) 12. Postscript


For more info, please visit:


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.