Satellite Announce Pre-Order for Calling Birds

By on February 21, 2013



Alternative-rock quartet, Satellite, have announced their pre-order for their debut LP, Calling Birds, to be released March 5th via Descendant Records/Sony Music, produced by Mitch Allan. As MTV states, With a voice like that, we’d be inclined to give the man a second chance: McMorran eases between cowboy craggy and a keening falsetto, sounding like Bon Iver after a strenuous season of rustling cattle or maybe just wearing a lot of denim.“Eager to invest them-selves into something that felt permanent, the band worked diligently to make a record that would be a worthy reminder of the passion it required. To pre-order your copy of Calling Birds today, please visit:


The emotive atmospherics of Nashville’s Satellite have resonated deeply with fans and critics alike. The group’s debut EP, Ring The Bells (2010), has been critically acclaimed by Radar Online, Alternative Press, Kings of A&R, and The LA Examiner, garnering favorable descriptions such as “Snow Patrol meets Kings of Leon” and “Springsteen meets UK.”


Consisting of Steven McMorran (vocals/guitar), Mitch Allan (guitar), Josh Dunahoo (guitar), and Erik Kertes (bass), Satellite was formed in 2010 around songs written by McMorran and the production aesthetic of esteemed songwriter, Allan, with input from bandmate, Dunahoo. With previous songwriting success, McMorran has written for the likes of Joe Cocker, Celine Dion, Michael Bolton, and many more.


Through crafting and recording Calling Birds, the trio deepened its intuitive creative interplay and honed its lushly introspective aesthetic. “I remember Josh and I nodding to each other when we first heard the chorus to ‘Say The Words’ with drums,” McMorran recalls. “That was first time we’d heard the idea of a band in our music.”


Calling Birds combines lyrical sincerity with a pull towards Americana. It is a continuation of sorts to Ring the Bells EP, which according to Allan, will complete the album “thematically and sonically”.Calling Birds is meant to reference the one sound in the night that reminds you the sun’s coming up. Like maybe the songs point out something making life a little easier, and, that in more ways than not, we aren’t facing it alone,” main songwriter/lead singer, McMorran explains.


With music that is both, bracing and soaring, matched with lyrics that are vulnerable and raw, sung by McMorran, there is emotion that gets you right inside every song.


Reflecting back on crafting the sincere and transformative pop rock on Calling Birds, McMorran says: “We put ourselves through hell to make something we’d be proud of. Ultimately, we were searching for something that makes us feel honest when we play it and feels good to hear.”


In the summer of 2012, Satellite signed with Sony Music’s Descendant Records who will release their debut LP, Calling Birds, on March 5th. You can pre-order Calling Birds today, here:


For more information, please visit:


Tour Dates:


2/21                                    The Independent w/Lisa Loeb                           San Francisco, CA

3/19                                    Jammin Java w/Lisa Loeb                                 Vienna, VA

3/20                                   Highline Ballroom w/Lisa Loeb                         New York, NY

3/22                                   Regattabar w/Lisa Loeb                                      Cambridge, MA

3/23                                   Troy Music Hall w/Lisa Loeb                              Troy, NY

3/24                                   World Café Live w/Lisa Loeb                              Philadelphia, PA

4/2                                     University of North Carolina – Charlotte            Charlotte, NC


Track Listing:

01. Say The Words

02. Brooklyn

03. Turning On My Own

04. Saving Us Tonight

05. Silhouette

06. Come and Get Me

07. Ring The Bells

08. God Save The Dream

09. You and Me

10. What You Need

11. ’till I Return


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.