Satellite Released Re-Mastered Version of “Say The Words” for Purchase Today

By on December 11, 2012

Alternative-rock quartet, Satellite, have released their re-mastered version of “Say The Words” for purchase today! This is the first track available from their debut LP, Calling-Birds, which will be released on March 5th via Descendant Records/Sony Music, produced by Mitch Allan. Eager to invest them-selves into something that felt permanent, the band worked diligently to make a record that would be a worthy reminder of the passion it required. You can purchase “Say The Words” on iTunes, here: or Amazon, here:


The emotive atmospherics of Nashville’s Satellite have resonated deeply with fans and critics alike. The group’s debut EP, Ring The Bells (2010), has been critically acclaimed by Radar Online, Alternative Press, Kings of A&R, and The LA Examiner, garnering favorable descriptions such as “Snow Patrol meets Kings of Leon” and “Springsteen meets UK.”


Consisting of Steven McMorran (vocals/guitar), Mitch Allan (guitar), Josh Dunahoo (guitar), and Erik Kertes (bass), Satellite was formed in 2010 around songs written by McMorran and the production aesthetic of esteemed songwriter, Allan, with input from bandmate, Dunahoo. With previous songwriting success, McMorran has written for the likes of Joe Cocker, Celine Dion, Michael Bolton, and many more.


Through crafting and recording Calling-Birds, the trio deepened its intuitive creative interplay and honed its lushly introspective aesthetic. “I remember Josh and I nodding to each other when we first heard the chorus to ‘Say The Words’ with drums,” McMorran recalls. “That was first time we’d heard the idea of a band in our music.”


Calling-Birds combines lyrical sincerity with a pull towards Americana. It is a continuation of sorts to Ring the Bells EP, which according to Allan, will complete the album “thematically and sonically”.Calling-Birds is meant to reference the one sound in the night that reminds you the sun’s coming up. Like maybe the songs point out something making life a little easier, and, that in more ways than not, we aren’t facing it alone,” main songwriter/lead singer, McMorran explains.


With music that is both, bracing and soaring, matched with lyrics that are vulnerable and raw, sung by McMorran, there is emotion that gets you right inside every song.


Reflecting back on crafting the sincere and transformative pop rock on Calling-Birds, McMorran says: “We put ourselves through hell to make something we’d be proud of. Ultimately, we were searching for something that makes us feel honest when we play it and feels good to hear.”


In the summer of 2012, Satellite signed with Sony Music’s Descendant Records who will release their debut LP, Calling-Birds, on March 5th.


For more information, please visit: 


Track Listing:

01. Say The Words

02. Brooklyn

03. Turning On My Own

04. Saving Us Tonight

05. Silhouette

06. Come and Get Me

07. Ring The Bells

08. God Save The Dream

09. You and Me

10. What You Need

11. ’till I Return


Tour Dates:


12/14                                    Vinyl                                                                                                       Atlanta, GA

1/15                                       The Living Room                                                                            New York, NY

1/22                                       Morehead State University                                                     Morehead, KY

4/2                                        University of North Carolina – Charlotte                          Charlotte, NC


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.