Scientist announce new EP ‘World EP: Mobile Lab Remix Edition’ Out August 19

By on July 28, 2014


After a great response from their debut EP, World EP, which featured tracks such as “Coming Up,” as heard on the finale of MTV’s Real World: Explosion as well as in the Lexus Enform commercial, Scientist is back and ready to release more music. On August 19th, 2014, Austin, TX’s own Scientist will be releasing World EP: Mobile Lab Remix Edition. This EP features remixes from Soul Glow Activatur (Solomon Olds/FF5), Chad Howat (Paper Route), Darren King (MuteMath), Jesse Cole (McSwagger), Derek Webb and Jeremy Brown (Crash Kart). You can catch Scientist playing this remix EP for the first time live on the Slow Down Summer Tour with Abandon Kansas from August 14th-August 30th. You can find all of the dates here. The duo is set to release their first remix, “Coming Up (Crash Kart Remix),” in early August.


In early 2011, deep in the heart of Texas, Brandon DuBois and Jesse Schaefer began writing their debut record, World EP. Produced by Grammy-nominated band, After Edmund, the band recorded the five song EP over the course of twelve months. Drawing inspiration from The Killers and Passion Pit, the record consists of five songs that are pop rock to the core and wrapped with an electronic bow.


Scientist is constantly in The Lab working on new videos and responses to The Experiment, a feature where people submit cover videos of Scientist songs, and in return, Scientist covers one of theirs. Along with that, nerd glasses and pocket protectors are sold at every show, and anyone who tags Scientist in a nerdy picture will end up on their website. Singer-songwriter/guitarist, Jesse Schaefer explains the concept of this remix EP further:


“We got some AMAZING takes on our tunes. Based on The Experiment, we decided to contact some of our favorite musicians and ask to hear their take on our songs, and thus, World EP: Mobile Lab Remix Edition was created.”


The Scientist boys can be found in the Mobile Lab on tour. Having shared the stage with Paper Route, Quiet Company, Kopecky Family Band, and bands of the like, they’ve been promoting World EP with their captivating live show, complete with instrument switches, electronic breaks, and crowd participation.

World EP: Mobile Lab Remix Edition Tracklisting:

1. Coming Up

2. Deep Down
3. Criminal
4. World
5. Forest
6. Coming Up (Crash Kart Remix)
7. Deep Down (Soul Glow Activatur Phenomenon Remix)
8. Criminal (McSwagger Remix)
9. World (Darren King Remix)

10. Forest (Chad Howat Remix)
11. Criminal (Crash Kart Remix)
12. Coming Up (Derek Webb Remix)




Instagram (@scientistmusic)


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.