By on March 28, 2013



Ernest Jenning Record Co. is thrilled to announce that Shannon Wright will release her new full-length album In Film Sound on May 7th, 2013. The album comes after thirteen years and seven LP’s as a solo artist, finding Wright returning with what could be her fiercest record to date. In celebration of the new release, Wright is releasing the track “The Caustic Light” for posting, available HERE.


Crashing out of the gates with the aptly titled “Noise Parade,” Wright immediately reintroduces listeners to her trademark cutting guitars with a distinctive bittersweet fury that jumps from the speakers. In Film Sound bursts with urgent immediacy, a kind of direct intention-into-thought that’s as raw as it is focused. The easy sway of “The Caustic Light” thrusts into a chaotic attack of atonal guitar and rhythm, while the gorgeous piano dirge of “Bleed” overflowing with chest pounding wonder and loss.


In Film Sound features an esteemed rhythm section consisting of Shipping News members Kyle Crabtree (drums) and Todd Cook (bass) and was recorded this fall in Louisville, KY by Kevin Ratterman (My Morning Jacket, Andrew Bird, Maserati) and mastered by Bob Weston at Chicago Mastering Services. It is Wright’s first new LP for Brooklyn’s Ernest Jenning Record Co. after a decade of work with esteemed Chicago imprint Touch and Go Records and a self-released 2010 LP. Wright has been out of the spotlight in America since her long time label shuttered, but in that time she has been active overseas where an adoring European audience has supported her from the start, and collaborations with cult composer Yann Tiersen have only increased her international profile. France’s Vicious Circle will also be releasing the album in Europe. 
Wright’s songwriting has always been unflinchingly honest while untainted by the whims of current trends and her legendary guitar playing continues to shine through, often heavier than ever. The intensity of her voice refuses to let up these days either, and her sense of harmonic movement and rhythmic patterns often hints at something unsettling going on, a dangerous and explosive feeling that shrouds and ultimately defines In Film Sound.



In Film Sound Tracklisting:

1. Noise Parade

2. The Caustic Light

3. Tax The Patients

4. Who’s Sorry Now

5. Bleed

6. Mire

7. Captive To Nowhere

8. Surely, They’ll Tear It Down

9.  Mason & Hamlin


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.