Shout Out Louds Reveal New Album Info; Release New Video

By on December 4, 2012

Merge Records is excited to announce that the Swedish five-piece Shout Out Louds will be releasing their fourth album, Optica, on February 26, 2013. The album marks 10 years since Shout Out Louds released their debut, Howl Howl Gaff Gaff. Last week, the band gave away the first taster from Optica, “Blue Ice” as a 7″ actually made of ice. Only 10 ice kits exist worldwide. The official music video for “Blue Ice” is now available for posting HERE. The video was directed and animated by Johan Toorell.


Shout Out Louds’ first show in support of Optica will take place in Brooklyn, NY, at the Music Hall of Wiliamsburg on March 11, and they have confirmed a full stateside tour for May 2013, beginning May 7 in Washington, DC, and ending on May 23 at the El Rey in Los Angeles, CA.


Following their 2010 album Work, the band (Adam Olenius – lead vocals; Bebban Stenborg – keyboards; Ted Malmros – bass; Carl von Arbin – guitar; and Eric Edman – drums) headed out on their most successful tour ever and returned home to their own pursuits. Families were expanded, side projects were launched and homes outside of Stockholm were explored. When the time came to work on another Shout Out Louds record they wanted to return to the playful spirit that first brought them together 10 years ago.


Instead of “work,” they now wanted to dance!


Shout Out Louds took their time with these songs, recording for about one-and-a-half years in a small Stockholm studio and producing themselves for the first time with help from Johannes Berglund. A theme emerged and Optica was born, an album celebrating color and light from a band confident in its sound, filled with real strings, trombones, trumpets and flutes.


Shout Out Louds explain:


“In our eagerness to please no one but ourselves this time around, we decided to take on the challenge of producing our own music for the first time ever. Our close friend and sound aficionado of choice Johannes Berglund and his studio in Stockholm presented us with an ideal package for the endeavor. A secluded work space close to home, but off the earth’s surface, a more than generous timeline, and the patient and brilliant sixth member we needed to get through the whole thing safely. Together we made up a downstairs world of explosive colors, big, warm sounds and a very, very uninhibited work process. We never worried about following a clear path, trusting that the conscious decision not to worry would be enough to lead us right, and that right doesn’t necessarily have to mean rational or even reasonable…We all set prestige and skillfulness aside in favor of experimentation and sheer gusto. That will probably come across live too. I don’t think we’ve ever been this excited to take an album on tour.”


The track listing for Optica is below:


1. Sugar

2. Illusions

3. Blue Ice

4. 14th of July

5. Burn

6. Walking In Your Footsteps

7. Glasgow

8. Where You Come In

9. Hermila

10. Chasing the Sinking Sun

11. Circles

12. Destroy


The dates for the spring tour are below. Tickets will be available beginning December 7, 2012.



11 – Brooklyn, NY – Music Hall of Williamsburg



7 – Washington, DC – 9:30 Club

8 – Philadelphia, PA – Union Transfer

11 – Boston, MA – Paradise

13 – Montreal, QC – La Sala Rosa

14 – Toronto, ONT – The Opera House

15 – Detroit, MI – The Magic Bag

16 – Chicago, IL – Metro

17 – Minneapolis, MN – Varsity Theater

22 – San Francisco, CA – Great American Music Hall

23 – Los, Angeles, CA – El Rey


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.