Skytown Riot Announce ‘Soul or System’ EP

By on October 22, 2013


Knoxville’s anthemic alt-rock band, Skytown Riot, may just be the southern regions best kept secret, but not for long. The quartet are preparing to unleash their latest effort, Soul or System, a 6-track EP set to drop on November 19th. Today the band has partnered up with Substream Music Press to exclusively unveil their album promo trailer. Check it out here:

When asked about what went into the Soul or System EP, vocalist/guitarist Van Gallik stated,

“We’re driven by desire and inspired by the greatness of others, but we’re destined to simply find our place within a system. Aren’t we? Maybe there is a balance to be found, but in our experience as artists we are at a constant struggle to find it. Although these ideas are neatly woven into each song on the EP, we also wanted to give listeners a diverse collection of tracks. It opens with a powerhouse waltz, follows with a playful dance-rock song, then a ballad, a cover song, more rock, an epic closer… Despite the diversity there’s an indefinable quality among these songs that just screams Skytown Riot. And we’ve worked for years to figure out how to accomplish this! (It also helps to work with a great producer!) So we’re not just excited to release this EP, we’re finally proud to do it. We don’t expect to change the world. But as we push forward through the struggle we certainly hope to entertain a few people, and maybe through the process we can affect and change each other.”


Soul or System Track Listing:
1.     Sensational
2.     Misbehave
3.     The Afterglow
4.     House of the Rising Sun
5.     Runaway Princess
6.     Soul or System


About Skytown Riot:

Tuned-in ears and dropped jaws are becoming a familiar sight to Knoxville, Tennessee natives Skytown Riot. The anthemic, alternative-rock band has cultivated an exciting sound ready for epic amphitheater performances, garnering them comparisons from Muse to Coldplay. Showcasing enduring melodies, masterful riffs, pulsating percussive beats, and ethereal key tones, they aim to explore the spectrum of emotion and thus, the human experience. “People don’t often expect to hear arena-rock in these smaller clubs,” explains Van, the ensemble’s guitar-wielding vocalist. “But the way I see it, we’re just dressing for the job we want.”


The four-piece outfit began to take shape in 2010 when high school friends, Jimi Judiscak (drums) and Van Gallik (lead vocals/guitar), started playing in a band together post-college. Soon after they found their bassist Jason Gostkowski with the help of a well placed wanted ad on Craigslist. The three began playing together in a different band that eventually came to an end. Still wanting to create together, the trio formed a new group, Skytown Riot. They rounded their new sound in 2011 with the addition of Cody Hensley on keys, in lieu of searching for a lead guitar replacement. Which they’ve stated was their “Best. Decision. Ever.”


Skytown Riot got to work carefully crafting and perfecting their opulent sound, demonstrating their sensational musicianship and composition in their new EP, ‘Soul Or System’. Their music is designed around the spirit of theatrical live performance that will most authentically reflect their head-turning stage presence. The band teamed up with producer/mixer Mike Dearing at HiFi Studios in Knoxville to capture that in their latest 6-track effort. They displayed a natural progression to their musical experimentalism, pumping in new energy through unexpected genre combinations. With mastering done by Spectre in Seattle, and guest appearances by cellist Cecelia Miller, Skytown Riot’s ‘Soul or System’ EP (due out November 19th) is chalk-full of undeniable hits.


Having already shared the stage with bands like Filter, Hoobastank, and Halestorm, it’s clear that Skytown Riot is already on their way. The bands most recent single, “Runaway Princess,” has become infectious among video-gaming YouTubers, as a go-to soundtrack for fan-made battleground videos. The fellas are capturing everyone’s attention and these new, near perfect tracks will undoubtedly keep their momentum rolling.


Keep up with Skytown Riot online:


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.