Songs For Slim Announce Special Record Store Day Release With The Minus 5 (feat. Curtiss A) b/w Time O’Reagan & Jim Boquist

By on April 14, 2013


Songs For Slim is excited to announce a special release for Record Store Day 2013. On April 20, a limited-edition 7-inch split single will be released featuring Minnesota legend Curtiss A (aka the “Dean of Scream”) and The Minus 5 (featuring Scott McCaughey, Peter Buck, and John Moen & Nate Query from the Decemberists) working some transcontinental magic on “Rockin’ Here Tonight.” The sessions for this amazing performance began in Portland, Oregon under the tutelage of Adam Selzer and Scott McCaughey and was completed in Minneapolis with Ed Ackerson at Flowers Studio (where The Replacements recorded their Songs For Slim EP). On the flip are local heroes Tim O’Reagan (Jayhawks, Joe Henry) and Jim Boquist (Son Volt, Golden Smog) (ably assisted by Paul Westerberg on guitar) shining their considerable talents on Slim’s magnificent composition, “Cozy,” a “shoulda been” hit if there ever was one. This single will be limited to 1000 copies and, like all Songs For Slim releases, features a beautiful picture sleeve with original Chris Mars artwork. This special RSD release will be available via participating retail outlets rather than auction (check the RSD website for more details). Because of a ninety day exclusivity agreement with the RSD folks, the digital release for this single will be July 23. Regular monthly Songs For Slim auctions will resume in May with Jakob Dylan & Joe Henry.


The 12-inch vinyl version of The Replacements’ Songs For Slim EP(same track listing as the limited 10-inch auction version but without the deluxe packaging) hits the stores next Tuesday, April 16.


TheLucinda Williams/Tommy Keene and Steve Earle/Craig Finn & Friends singles will finally be released digitally on April 23.   

Don’t forget about the Songs For Slim online store:, which is selling t-shirts, slip mats, bracelets and necklaces, with specially-priced bundles also available.




Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.