Spotlight: Sound The Ocean release new video ‘Spring’ RIYL: OneRepublic, The KIllers, U2, Lifehouse, Keane

By on October 18, 2013


Sound the Ocean – seven Hamilton music teachers by day, seven musicians by night (or whenever it’s show time). Seven’s a big number for a band and that’s because these guys (and one gal) think big. Hail from a small country? They’ll take the world thanks! Like to keep things low key? They’ll make a big song and dance about it! And big songs they do make. Their debut single, “Ghost Town”, is big enough to scare any ghost from any town – not that it’s frightening – rather it’s bound to appeal to those who like to sing along (and it’s common knowledge that ghosts do not). Initially performing as the Nick Kraenzlin Band in 2010, a complete rebrand led to the name change and a line-up comprised of Nick Kraenzlin (vocals/acoustic guitar), former flatmates Brendon Rickard (drums, vocals) and Jason Henderson (electric guitar), Jon Clarke (bass guitar/vocals) and Brett Wilson (electric guitar, vocals). A common link for these band members is Vision College School of Music, where they studied towards a degree in music (with the exception of Brett, who teaches there). Rounding out the group is Nick’s wife Amanda (vocals/percussion) and Jesse Te Weehi (keyboards).

The group’s debut album, Wait for the Morning (slated for release at the end of 2013), was penned by Nick as a suite of thematically-linked songs as part of his portfolio for his Master of Arts degree. After recording demos at The Porch (nestled in rural Waikato), the band set off for Neil Finn’s Roundhead Studios to track the album. And the band does not disappoint with their live shows as they deliver stadium-ready, anthemic pop/rock songs equally as wide as the horizon and deep as the ocean live as they do through your best pair of headphones.


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.