Spring Offensive “Pulls Us Apart” Review

By on June 24, 2011

 Methodical. Emotional. Those are the two words that come to mind when listening to Spring Offensive’s new album, “Pull Us Apart,” which was released in the US on June 21st. The Oxford, England quintet has jumped over the pond and brought an amazing album filled with emotion and expertly crafted melodies. While nowadays it is hard to label a band’s sound, Spring Offensive seems to incorporate the best characteristics of the post-hardcore and mathcore genres. Their complex melody lines, thoughtful and intelligent lyrics, and smooth vocals create a haunting look into human emotion. The first track “I Found Myself Smiling,” a track reminiscent of The Smiths, narrates a story of jealousy and revenge, with pulsing beats and a polished but personal, acoustic feel. Tracks like “The Cable Routine” and “Everything Other than This” take a dive into depression and self-reflection, but still manage to keep things relatable (read: not making you want to slit your own wrists) by incorporating upbeat tempos and light guitar chords reflective of Death Cab for Cutie. The US release contains all 7 tracks contained on the original UK release; however, there is one additional glittering gem. The last track “The First of Many Dream About Monsters” is a 14-minute track inspired by the grief cycle developed by Dr. Elisabeth Kubler-Ross in the late 1960s. This musical epic poem illustrates each emotion in the cycle (Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression, Acceptance) through separate musical “stanzas,” all different, but related by the theme of impending passing. Anger deals with anger and feelings of helplessness singing, “Petrified in a lab room bell jar…” Helplessness reemerges again paired up with the second to last stage in the cycle, Depression. Through gritty guitar riffs and then haunting vocals, we slides right into Acceptance, a beautiful musical symphony of crashing cymbals and synthesizer.

The album is out now and can be purchased on iTunes. Their first single, “Every Coin,” can also be found on YouTube. Definitely check out their Facebook page; it has links to free downloads of “Every Coin,” streaming the new album, and some videos of live versions of their tracks. The band is currently touring around the greater London, England area, and hopefully after their breakout in the US, will pop over here soon. 

Spring Offensive is Lucas Whitworth (lead vocals), Matt Cooper (guitar and vocals), Theo Whitworth,
(guitar and vocals), Joe Charlett (bass), and Pelham Groom (drums and vocals).
Pull Us Apart Track Listing:
1. I Found Myself Smiling
2. Abacus Rex
3. Every Coin
4. The Cable Routine
5. Everything Other Than This

6. Slow Division
7. Little Evening
8. The First Of Many Dreams About Monsters


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.