Syd Arthur announces new album ‘Sound Mirror’ on May 20; watch new video

By on March 7, 2014

Syd Arthur

Harvest recording group Syd Arthur has announced the release of their eagerly anticipated new album.    Sound Mirror, the acclaimed British psychedelic band’s second full-length outing, arrives on May 20th. In the meantime, pre-orders have begun via the iTunes Store.    Sound Mirror is heralded by the tantalizing new song, “Garden of Time,” with the track’s companion video premiering today exclusively via Additional clips – including rare live videos – can be viewed at

Syd Arthur will celebrate the release of  Sound Mirror with a number of much anticipated US live dates. Among this month’s highlights are a jam-packed schedule of parties and showcases at Austin, Texas’ annual South By Southwest (March 11th – 16th) extravaganza and a much-anticipated New York City headline show, slated for March 18th at Rockwood Music Hall. In April, the band return for an appearance at the upcoming Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival (April 12th & 19th). A full North American tour – including performances at such summer gatherings as George, Washington’s Sasquatch! Music Festival and Rothbury, Michigans’ Electric Forest Festival – will be unveiled soon. For up-to-the-minute news and information, please see


The band will be touring with Sean Lennon’s The Ghost Of A Sabertooth Tiger beginning in San Francisco on May 20 and ending in Boston on June 7. A complete list of dates is below.


Produced by Syd Arthur at their own Wicker Studios in Southeast London, and mixed by Tom Elmhirst (Beck, Arcade Fire, U2), Sound Mirror reflects the proudly self-reliant band’s ever-expanding mastery of the recording process. Songs such as “Autograph” and “Singularity” dance about rock’s outer limits, where gear-shifting extremes are counterbalanced by windswept melody and brilliantly crafted psychedelia. Traditional borderlines are obliterated as elements of free jazz improvisation, floor-filling funk, and bucolic folk fuse with the band’s most focused and emotionally direct songwriting thus far. Progressive in the truest sense, tracks like “Hometown Blues” and “Backwardstepping” evade the epic, instead offering a strikingly succinct interplay of deeply felt songcraft and collectivist performance.


Syd Arthur – Liam Magill (lead vocals, guitar), his brother Joel (bass, vocals), Raven Bush (vocal, mandolin, keys), and Fred Rother (drums and percussion) – emerged out of Kent early in the new century, their contemporary revision of classic British psychedelic music quickly leading MOJO to proclaim them “Canterbury’s dazzling new sons.”


On An On, the band’s 2012 debut album (released in 2013 by Harvest), affirmed their insatiable appetite for aural invention, bridging ambitious time-shifting workouts with indelible folk-pop dazzlers like the breakthrough single, “Ode To The Summer.”


In addition to their widely hailed studio efforts, Syd Arthur has also earned applause as a thrilling live act, honing their distinctive stagecraft through near-constant performance, including myriad UK headline shows and support slots alongside such like-minded artists as White Denim, Jonathan Wilson, The Pixies and the one and only Paul Weller.


Sound Mirror tracklisting below:

Garden of Time

Hometown Blues


What’s Your Secret

All and Everything





Sink Hole


Syd Arthur/The Ghost Of A Sabertooth Tiger tour dates are below:



20 – San Francisco, CA – Great American Music Hall

23 – Vancouver, BC – The Imperial

24 – Portland, OR – Mississippi Studios

27 – Denver, CO – Bluebird

28 – Omaha, NE – Waiting Room

29 – Des Moines, IA – Wooly’s

30 – Minneapolis, MN – 7th Street Entry

31 – Madison, WI – High Noon Saloon



1 – Chicago, IL – Lincoln Hall

3 – Toronto, ON – The Hoxton

4 – Montreal, QC – La Sala Rossa

5 – New York, NY – Bowery Ballroom

6 – Philadelphia, PA – Johnny Brenda’s

7 – Boston, MA – Brighton Music Hall


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.