T. Hardy Morris announces new song and Fall tour dates

By on October 23, 2014
T Hardy Morris

T. Hardy Morris will close out 2014 with a string of tour dates, including a run with fellow traveller Jessica Lea Mayfield this November, and a special appearance with Deer Tick to ring in the New Year on Dec 31 at Brooklyn Bowl in Brooklyn, NY.

Photo Credit: Scott Sheff

Morris is also releasing a new single, “Painted on Attitude”, giving fans a taste of the fierce rock band hitting the road and a sneak peek at what is to come sonically from the Athens, GA based musician as he completes work on his sophomore solo album, due in 2015 from Dangerbird Records.


A strangely complimentary mix of rollicking lo-fi southern rock pedal steel twang run through a grunge punk buzzsaw, “Painted On Attitude” showcases Morris’ snarling yet tuneful vocals on the sharp end of the blade. The single is a wry commentary on the lengths to which some go to “do something, oh so unique” by moving to big cities, only to “blend-in and pretend to be busy” while predictably getting swept up in whatever inescapable trend is currently affecting Brooklyn or Portland.

Stream “Painted On Attitude” on Consequence of Sound

Purchase “Painted On Attitude” with b-side “Without Fail” via Dangerbird Records


Morris’ sound is a departure as well as a continuation of the blissfully languid approach taken on much of his debut. Morris’ unique sonic lean is a product of his youthful affinity for “good” 90s rock, slamming head-first into his coveted Neil Young records and love of 70s Outlaw Country.


When Morris sat down to write for this new release, he drew upon two former songs in particular. “Share The Needle”, from Audition Tapes, and “Country Mile”, a song he’d contributed to Diamond Rugs’ self-titled debut. Each of those tracks featured a distinct push-and-pull dynamic that ended up bridging the gap between the quieter country leanings of Audition Tapes, and the more aggressive grunge of Morris’ other band Dead Confederate.


To achieve the sound found on the new record, Hardy amassed a contingent of players comprised of the ever trusty Matt “Pistol” Stoessel on pedal steel, Vaughan Lamb on bass, and Dead Confederate drummer Nick Sterchi. The same band will join him on the road this fall as they perform songs from the upcoming album as well as Audition Tapes.


Upcoming tour dates below.


Upcoming Tour Dates:

*= w/ Jessica Lea Mayfield



30 – Austin, TX – Mohawk


05 – Augusta, GA – Sky City w/ Sturgill Simpson

08 – Arnoldsville, GA – Wildwood Revival Festival

14 – Atlanta, GA – The Earl *

15 – Athens, GA – 40 Watt *

17 – Charlottesville, VA – The Southern *

18 – Brooklyn, NY – Brooklyn Bowl *

19 – Providence, RI – Fete Lounge *

20 – Hamden, CT – Ballroom at Outer Space *

21 – York, PA – Central Market *

22 – Columbus, OH – Rumba Cafe *



31 – Brooklyn, NY – Brooklyn Bowl w/ Deer Tick




Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.