The Gaslight Anthem announce new album, pre-order details and tour dates

By on June 16, 2014
The Gaslight Anthem - Portrait

New Jersey rockers The Gaslight Anthem return with their eagerly anticipated new album, Get Hurt, on August 19 through Island Records. The news was announced exclusively on the band’s Facebook page this morning:


Recorded at the legendary Blackbird Studios in Nashville with producer Mike Crossey (The 1975, Arctic Monkeys and Jake Bugg), Get Hurt sees The Gaslight Anthem pushing their raw, stripped back rock ‘n’ roll into new territory, drawing on a fresh palette of influences ranging across folk, punk, and Americana. It is an album that is heavier, and yet at the same time more intimate, than anything they have produced to date.


Following the success of their 2012 album Handwritten — which charted in the Top 10 of the album charts across Europe and America, with the band playing Wembley Stadium, Glastonbury and Coachella along the way — The Gaslight Anthem’s fifth studio album perfectly shows them thriving creatively while pushing their horizons artistically. It is a record that oozes the confidence of a band at the very top of their game.


Get Hurt will be available on the following formats: standard CD, deluxe CD (with 12-page booklet and three bonus tracks), standard 180 gram 12″ vinyl, limited edition signed deluxe vinyl (three bonus tracks, 2 picture discs, poster).  The album is available to pre-order through the bands website now. Fans can reserve their copy, and those that order through the store today will receive an early access code to buy tickets to The Gaslight Anthem’s upcoming fall tour.

Fans will get a first taste of Get Hurt today with the release of a minute-long promo video clip featuring the new song “Stay Vicious,” filmed by Joey Maloney, and showing a friend of the band’s antics while they were recording in Nashville:


Get Hurt will be available on the following formats: standard CD, signed deluxe CD (with 12-page booklet and three bonus tracks), standard 180 gram 12″ vinyl.


The Gaslight Anthem has also confirmed a North American tour in support of Get Hurt. The complete list of dates is below. More will be announced soon.



10 – Washington, DC – 9:30 Club (w/Against Me! & twopointeight)

12 – Philadelphia, PA – Skyline Stage @ Mann Center – (w/Jimmy Eat World & Against Me!)

13 – Holmdel, NJ – PNC Bank Arts Center – (w/Jimmy Eat World & Against Me!, twopointeight)

14 – Ottawa, ONT – Ottawa Folk Festival

27 – Oakland, CA – Fox Theatre (w/Against Me! & twopointeight)

28 – Los Angeles, CA – The Palladium (w/twopointeight)

30 – San Diego, CA – House of Blues (w/Against Me! & twopointeight)



1 – Phoenix, AZ – Marquee Theatre (w/Against Me! & twopointeight)

3 – Tulsa, OK – Cain’s Ballroom (w/Against Me! & twopointeight)

3-5 – Austin, TX – Austin City Limits Festival

7 – Atlanta, GA – Buckhead Theater (w/Against Me! & twopointeight)

8 – Nashville, TN Marathon Music Works (w/Against Me! & twopointeight)

10 – New Orleans, LA – Civic Theatre (w/Against Me! & twopointeight)

10-12 – Austin, TX – Austin City Limits Festival

14 – Kansas City, MO – Uptown Theatre (w/Against Me! & twopointeight)

15 – Minneapolis, MN – First Avenue (w/Against Me! & twopointeight)

16 – Chicago, IL – Aragon Ballroom (w/Against Me! & twopointeight)

17 – Pittsburgh, PA – Stage AE (w/Against Me! & twopointeight)


Get Hurt tracklisting below:


1. Stay Vicious

2. 1,000 Years

3. Get Hurt

4. Stray Paper

5. Helter Skeleton

6. Underneath The Ground

7. Rollin’ And Tumblin’

8. Red Violins

9. Selected Poems

10. Ain’t That A Shame

11. Break Your Heart

12. Dark Places

13. Sweet Morphine (Deluxe version only)

14. Mama’s Boys (Deluxe version only)

15. Halloween (Deluxe version only)

16. Have Mercy (Bonus – iTunes only)


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.