The Howlin’ Brothers to release ‘Trouble’ Apr.29 on Readymade/Dine Alone Records

By on March 6, 2014
The Howlin' Brothers

Nashville-based, country-blues trio The Howlin’ Brothers have just announced the release of their latest album Trouble, due out on April 29, 2014 through Readymade/Dine Alone Records in Canada. The vinyl configuration will follow on May 27, 2014. 


Produced and Engineered by indie rocker and singer-songwriter Brendan Benson (The Raconteurs), Trouble, is the follow-up record to The Howlin’ Brothers critically acclaimed 2013 release HOWL. The bands latest release features 13 new original songs that were heavily influenced by the people they met and struggles that they encountered on the road over the past year. Fiddle/banjo and vocalist Ian Craft says: “Trouble is an awesome recipe for tasty sounds. Your ears will be happy to take the journey with us from Jay’s songs of love and Cajun food, to Ben’s travels to get a mojo hand and find the girl who has yet to present herself, to my tunes of love gone wrong and finally, a little moment in an old church on top of a smoky ole Tennessee mountain top.”


Benson describes Trouble as “effortless artistry . . . woebegone, lovelorn and wrought with pain, but not without installments of lightheartedness and beauty, downtrodden and then uplifted.” He adds, “The Howlin’ Brothers are somehow able to conjure images of a bygone era and make it believable. The listener gets a glimpse into the troubadour lifestyle, traveling (among other places) to Louisiana for a Cajun romp on the bayou and across the Arizona desert to California on a search for a misses. It’s a journey very much worth the while.”


The Howlin’ Brothers had a very good year in 2013, following the release of HOWL. Featuring Warren Haynes (on one track, “Big Time”), the album brought instant success to the band. In one year they graced the cover of Acoustic Guitar magazine’s January 2014 issue; recorded in the legendary Sun Studio; were featured in a national PBS show (The Sun Sessions, which will broadcast throughout 2014 in more than 100 markets); shared the stage with Grammy® winner Ricky Skaggs; placed on over 17 end-of-year “best of” lists, and reached #6 on the Americana Music radio chart (was also #30 on that year-end chart, the highest charting position by an act/artist new to the format last year). The trio toured their brand of “old-time string country blues with an indie-rock edge” throughout the U.S. and into Canada. They ended their HOWL Tour in style last year opening for and then participating in the Brendan Benson & Friends benefit concert (for The David Lynch Foundation) at The Ryman Auditorium in late December. They will reprise the same role on the 2014 version of this show in London at Shepherd’s Bush this coming October 11th.


The Howlin’ Brothers are comprised of Ben Plasse (upright bass, banjo, vocals), Ian Craft (fiddle, banjo and vocals) and Jared Green (guitar, harmonica, vocals). Prior to HOWL (2013), they self released four albums – Tragic Mountain Songs (2007), Long Hard Year (2009), Baker St. Blues (2011), and a very limited edition compilation of live performances, Old Time All the Time (2012). These previous releases had been sold exclusively at shows, however they may become available on the band’s website sometime in 2014.  An old-time pickin’ party and the wash tub bass led to them meeting Brendan Benson, who later tapped them to perform on a Cory Chisel record he was producing, soon after Brendan & the guys teamed up to create HOWL.


In the fall of 2013, The Howlin’ Brothers recorded and digitally released The Sun Studio Session EP in the U.S. and Canada. Recorded as part of the PBS series The Sun Studio Sessions, this six-song collection featured four new originals (one of which, “Troubled Waltz,” was re-recorded for TROUBLE), a re-record of “Tennessee Blues” (from HOWL), and a cover of the Carl Perkins’ classic “Dixie Fried.” A limited edition vinyl pressing will be released via independent music stores on May 27th in the U.S. and Canada.


The Howlin’ Brothers recently launched a Pledge Music campaign this week to help raise funds for a new tour van, some videos & marketing help for Trouble, and to better fund their overall business efforts. For more information visit:


Trouble Track Listing:
01. Pour It Down
02. Boogie
03. Night and Day
04. Monroe
05. World Spinning Round
06. Troubled Waltz

07. Sing a Sad Song

08. Pack Up Joe

09. Love

10. Hard Times

11. I Was Wrong

12. Louisiana

13. Yes I Am!


Upcoming Canadian Tour Dates

03.30.14 Vancouver, BC @ The Railway Club


Website | Facebook | Twitter


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.