The Orwells to release new album ‘Disgraceland’ Jun.3; new tour dates

By on May 13, 2014

The Orwells

Chicago’s The Orwells will release their irresistibly raucous yet masterfully architected Disgraceland June 3rd on Canvasback Music. The band’s live reputation as an always uproarious and entertaining show has kept them on the road tirelessly building a base of fans ravenous for more. Luckily, the Orwells have also announced that their current tour, which includes stops at Rough Trade NYC, Bonnaroo, a UK tour and more through August, will continue with new fall tour dates throughout North America. Pre-sale info and tour dates below. For those looking to get a better idea of what The Orwells are all about, a 5-part series of live performances filmed at fellow Chicago native Steve Albini’s legendary Electrical Audio Studios premiered yesterday featuring the tracks “Who Needs You” and “Let It Burn”, with 3 more videos set for release from now until the album hits. Disgraceland is available for pre-order now on iTunes, with album track “Southern Comfort” as instant grat.

The Orwells’s 2012 debut Remember When and 2013’s Other Voices and Who Needs You EPs were made with a youthful energy and unabashed love for rock & roll which set the stage for the band’s new album. “I’m not that old but I’m getting pretty wise” — a sentiment within the early seconds of The Orwells’ new album, Disgraceland, pretty much sums up the eleven tracks that follow it. In guitarist Matt O’Keefe’s words, “We wanted to capture what the last 18-20 years of our lives were like, in this anywhere USA suburb.” Recorded last fall at studios in London, Chicago, New York, Los Angeles and Woodstock, NY, the album was produced with the help of Chris Coady (Smith Westerns, Beach House), Dave Sitek (Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Santigold, TV On the Radio) and Jim Abbiss (Arctic Monkeys).


The Orwells are cousins Mario Cuomo (vocals) and Dominic Corso (guitar), twins Grant (bass) and Henry Brinner (drums), and Matt O’Keefe (guitar)

The Orwells Disgraceland             

iTunes Presale: 

The Orwells store:

  1. Southern Comfort
  2. The Righteous One
  3. Dirty Sheets
  4. Bathroom Tile Blues
  5. Gotta Get Down
  6. Let It Burn
  7. Who Needs You
  8. Norman
  9. Always N’ Forever
  10. Blood Bubbles
  11. North Ave.


The Orwells Newly Announced Tour Dates

Fan pre-sale May 14-15:


Complete list of tour dates available here. (


Mon-Sep-08-14 Columbus, OH @ A&R Music Bar

Tue-Sep-09-14 Cleveland, OH @ Grog Shop

Thu-Sep-11-14 Pittsburgh, PA @ Altar Bar

Fri-Sep-12-14 Indianapolis, IN @ Deluxe

Sat-Sep-13-14 Chicago, IL @ Riot Fest

Fri-Sep-19-14 Denver, CO @ Riot Fest

Sat-Sep-20-14 Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court Gallery

Sun-Sep-21-14 Boise, ID @ Nuerolux

Wed-Sep-24-14 Vancouver BC @ Rickshaw Theatre

Thu-Sep-25-14 Portland, OR @ Star Theater

Sat-Sep-27-14 San Francisco, CA @ Slim’s

Sun-Sep-28-14 Santa Cruz, CA @ The Catalyst – Atrium

Mon-Sep-29-14 Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda Theatre

Thu-Oct-09-14 Allston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall

Fri-Oct-10-14 Montreal, QC @ II Motore

Sat-Oct-11-14 Toronoto, ON @ Mod Club

Mon-Oct-13-14 Philadelphia, PA @ Underground Arts – Wolf Building

Tue-Oct-14-14 Washington, DC @ Black Cat

Wed-Oct-15-14 New York, NY @ Irving Plaza

Fri-Oct-17-14 Asbury Park, NJ @ Asbury Lanes



Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.