Treetop Flyers: new video & LA & NYC dates confirmed

By on April 13, 2013



Treetop Flyers are excited to share their new video for “Things Will Change,” off their forthcoming debut, The Mountain Moves (out June 25th).  Paste Magazine premiered the video, noting that it “has the kind of layered vocals and upbeat tempo that stick in your head.” The video, shot in London, puts a unique spin on a stripped down performance video. The rotating scenery references the song’s theme of life being ever-changing, nodding to The Byrds’ “Turn! Turn! Turn! (To Everything There Is A Season),” with its call to arms about positively embracing the big picture throughout struggles and challenges. Treetop Flyers will bring their sun-drenched four-part harmonies and vintage rock ‘n roll sound to US audiences this summer, with newly confirmed shows in Los Angeles and New York. The full list of tour dates is below.


With their quintessential West Coast sound, it’s fitting that Treetop Flyers laid down their outstanding country soul debut in the canyons of Southern California. Though based in London, the British five-piece – Reid Morrison (vocals/guitars), Sam Beer (guitar/vocals), Laurie Sherman (guitar), Mathew Starritt (bass/vocals) and the band’s lone American Tomer Danan (drums/vocals) – swapped urban England for the picturesque beaches and rolling hills of Malibu in order to record the classic sounding The Mountain Moves. Produced by Noah Georgeson (Devendra Banhart, Joanna Newsom, Bert Jansch), The Mountain Moves is a record of hope, honesty and huge choruses, its universally reaching songs strewn with warm harmonies, propelled by an irrefutable open-highway groove. Paying their dues to everyone from The Band and Neil Young by way of Little Feat and Fleetwood Mac, there are also nods towards the more contemporary likes of My Morning Jacket, Band Of Horses, and Jonathan Wilson wrapped up in this stunning debut.


Opening with the driving ‘”Things Will Change,” the powerful pace of The Mountain Moves doesn’t let up for the faultless classic rock of “Houses Are Burning” or the Northern Soul leaning “Picture Show.” With its cries of being “stuck down in a nowhere town,” “Postcards” is a Stax inspired doo-wop shuffler of a song about the time the band spent in Denver on their way to LA. In addition to the stunning simplicity of “Is It All Worth It,” the delicate “Rose” showcases the softer side of Treetop Flyers, a lullaby that betrays an admiration of the British folk sounds of the 1970s, with whispers of Nick Drake and Fairport Convention amidst the canyon croons. “There’s nothing complex about it, it’s just sunshine,” adds Sam of the track. “It’s a capsule of us then, at that time, which is what a record should be.”


US Tour Dates:

6/23 – Los Angeles, CA – The Bootleg

6/24 – Los Angeles, CA – School Night at Bardot

6/26 – New York, NY – Mercury Lounge (tickets)

6/27 – Brooklyn, NY – Glasslands (tickets)





1. Things Will Change
2. Houses Are Burning
3. Waiting On You
4. Rose Is In The Yard
5.She’s Gotta Run
6. Haunted House
7. Postcards
8. Making Time
9. Picture Show
10. Storm Will Pass
11. Is It Worth It 


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.