By on May 13, 2011
Album To Be Released Within the U.S. on June 21
 Spring Offensive
Los Angeles, CA, May 12, 2011 – Seattle Indie label, Burning Building Recordings recently signed an album deal with indie Oxford, England quintet, Spring Offensive and will be re-distributing their album, Pull Us Apart in the U.S. on June 21 with the addition of one exclusive bonus track.
Spring Offensive are an exciting young band from Oxford, England, the home of internationally acclaimed acts such as Radiohead, Supergrass and Foals. From this small university town, they’ve established themselves firmly on the national scene with their endless touring schedule and high intensity live shows. And now, with the help of Burning Building Recordings, the band is ready to leap across the Atlantic to the USA to share their distinctive sound to the masses.
“Burning Building is exactly the kind of record label that we want to be releasing our music; their ethos and their roster is perfectly suited to us. ‘Pull Us Apart’ was the first thing we really did as a band, so it’s a great place for people to discover us,” says lead vocalist Lucas Whitworth. “We’re pretty stoked, to be honest. We’re excited about what we can achieve together. Hopefully we can make disgusting amounts of money, and retire to a small island in the Pacific. That last part was not entirely serious.”
Combining math and post-rock with layers of vocal harmonies and pounding rhythms, their sound is unique and dynamic, though influenced by many U.S. bands, including Death Cab For Cutie, The National, Low and Brand New.  Pull Us Apart features all 7 original tracks featured on the original U.K. self-release, with the addition of “The First Of Many Dreams About Monsters”, a 14-minute concept track (inspired by Dr. Elisabeth Kubler-Ross’ theory of the Grief Cycle), perfectly displaying the band’s haunting vocals and intricate guitar work coupled by pure passion and intensive storytelling. The lyrics of each song take you on a journey, a story that one must follow closely to completely comprehend. Each song builds and captures the listener, eager to follow each track into the next. This Is Fake DIY calls their music “Dripping in beauty,” while Artrocker compliments each track as “Dark, edgy and downright alluring.”
The band’s gift of storytelling is evident on their already critically acclaimed first single, “Every Coin”, written from the perspective of a man literally forced to eat the entire contents of his wallet. Check out their visual interpretation at: http://bit.ly/mQctzn. “Slow Division” is written from the viewpoint of a shipwrecked man writing his last ever message, while “Abacus Rex” is loosely based on Alan Turing, a mathematician going senile over his work.
The band’s dark tales are easily translated with their intense live set. While touring the UK, Spring Offensive has built a loyal and passionate fan base. The BBC described the band’s music as “heartfelt, direct, emotional and gorgeous” while Time Out exclaimed they were “bewitching.” They’ve played festivals and shared stages with renowned U.K. and European acts such as Frank Turner, Jeniferever and The Go! Team.
Burning Building Recordings is the perfect home for Spring Offensive, giving them the personal hands on support they will need to break within the U.S.. Pull Us Apart will be the Seattle-based label’s 17th release, second non-Northwest. Throughout their 7 years as an established Northwest indie label, they have worked with The Lonely Forest (now on Trans/Atlantic Records), Daniel G. Harmann & the Trouble Starts, Post Harbor, Speaker Speaker, and more.
The album was recorded and mixed by Ian Davenport at Courtyard Studios, mastered by Tim at Turan Audio and is currently available digitally in the U.K.. The U.S. version will include one extra track, new artwork and will be available to indie shops and most digital retail outlets such as iTunes and Amazon.com.
Spring Offensive is Lucas Whitworth (lead vocals), Matt Cooper (guitar and vocals), Theo Whitworth, (guitar and vocals), Joe Charlett (bass), and Pelham Groom (drums and vocals).
Pull Us Apart Track Listing:
1. I Found Myself Smiling
2. Abacus Rex
3. Every Coin
4. The Cable Routine
5. Everything Other Than This
6. Slow Division
7. Little Evening
8. The First Of Many Dreams About Monsters


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.