Ulver frontman discusses “Childhood’s End” in new video interview

By on May 5, 2012

NORWAY – Kscope has uploaded a new video interview with Kris Rygg, frontman of Norwegian black metal pioneer, Ulver, to the official mini-site for the band’s upcoming release, Childhood’s Endhttp://www.kscopemusic.com/ulver/. The acclaimed vocalist, musician and producer sat down to discuss his early introduction to psychedelia, the philosophy behind creating an album of classic psychedelic covers, how he personally views Ulver’s current musical direction and more. Watch the interview on Vimeo here: http://vimeo.com/41089781.
            Childhood’s End, a collection of classic psychedelic tracks recorded by the band in late 2011, is due out in North America on June 5th. The album includes Ulver’s unique versions of tracks from The 13th Floor Elevators, Electric Prunes, Jefferson Airplane, The Pretty Things and more.

            Stream the re-worked Beau Brummels track, “Magic Hollow,” via the mini-site or directly on Sound Cloud: http://snd.sc/IoJmCz for a sneak preview of the 16-song collection.

1. Bracelets of Fingers (The Pretty Things)
2. Everybody’s Been Burned (Byrds)
3. The Trap (Bonniwell’s Music Machine)
4. In the Past (Chocolate Watchband)
5. Today (Jefferson Airplane)
6. Can You Travel in the Dark Alone? (Gandalf)
7. I Had Too Much to Dream Last Night (Electric Prunes)
8. Street Song (13th Floor Elevators)
9. 66-5-4-3-2-1 (Troggs)
10. Dark is the Bark (Left Banke)
11. Magic Hollow (Beau Brummels)
12. Soon There Will Be Thunder (Common People)
13. Velvet Sunsets (Music Emporium)
14. Lament of the Astral Cowboy (Curt Boettcher)
15. I Can See the Light (Les Fleur De Lys)
16. Where is Yesterday (United States Of America)
            Ulver has continually evolved throughout its career and now stands as a living legend of the dark music industry, blending rock, electronica, symphonic and chamber traditions along with noise and experimental music to create groundbreaking material.
            Childhood’ End can be pre-ordered now in various formats through the Kscope webstore: https://www.burningshed.com/store/kscope/.
            Stay tuned for more information on Ulver and Childhood’s End.
Ulver online…


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.