By on January 15, 2012

20 Years, Two Compilations
All the Hits and a Handful of Rarities
US Release Date: January 31, 2012

Underworld begins a hectic 2012 by announcing the release of two career spanning compilation albums in January.
Firstly, A Collection is a single disc set which features edited highlights of the band’s 20-year career. A Collection features radio versions of many of the band’s best known tracks alongside recent collaborations with High Contrast & Tiesto (‘The First Note is Silent’), Mark Knight & D. Ramirez (‘Downpipe’) and Brian Eno (‘Beebop Hurry’).
The second compilation – the three-disc 1992-2012 Anthology – radically updates the band’s previous singles compilation by complimenting 16 full-length Underworld classics with nine rare/previously unreleased tracks. From pre-‘Dubnobasswithmyheadman’ outtakes through to newly mixed live recordings, 1992-2012 Anthology’s third disc is an essential purchase for any Underworld fan.
Both compilations are available now from (among other places) the band’s website as digital downloads with physical CD versions will available from 23rd January. CD copies pre-ordered from the website will instantly receive an MP3 download of the album for no extra cost. Pre–ordered CDs will ship w/c January 16 to arrive on or very shortly after the official street date of January 31, 2012.

In December 2011, Underworld were announced as Music Directors for the Opening Ceremony of the London 2012 Olympic Games. The appointment sees Rick and Karl reunited with the ceremony’s Artistic Director Danny Boyle as they continue their 15-year relationship. The band have previously worked with Boyle on the films Trainspotting, A Life Less Ordinary, The Beach and Sunshine and, most recently, the hugely acclaimed British theatrical production of Frankenstein.

1. The First Note Is Silent (w. High Contrast & Tiesto)
2. Scribble
3. Beebop Hurry (w. Karl Hyde & Brian Eno)
4. Downpipe (w. Mark Knight & D. Ramirez)
5. Crocodile
6. To Heal
7. Two Months Off
8. Jumbo
9. Born Slippy (Nuxx)
10. Dark and Long (Dark Train) (2011 Edit)
11. Mmm Skyscraper I Love You (2011 Edit)
12. Pearls Girl
13. Cowgirl (Live 2000)
14. Rez (2011 Edit)
15. King of Snake
16. Moaner

1. Big Mouth
2. Mmm Skyscraper… I Love You
3. Rez
4. Cowgirl
5. Spikee
6. Dirty Epic
7. Dark and Long (Dark Train)
1. Born Slippy (Nuxx)
2. Pearls Girl
3. Jumbo
4. 8 Ball
5. Moaner
6. Two Months Off
7. To Heal
8. Crocodile
9. Scribble
1. The Hump
2. Big Meat Show
3. Minneapolis
4. Why Why Why
5. Oich Oich
6. Second Hand
7. Parc (Live)
8. Simple Peal
9. JAL to Tokyo


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.